Teddy Mercer's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Teddy’s full profile.

Overview

  • 14 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Primary School Teacher
  • Master's Degree, Education.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi, my name is Teddy and I am a 29 year old Primary School teacher currently living in Arrifana, Aljezur, Portugal.

I thrive on meeting new people every day, meeting their friends and sharing knowledge and experiences. I am friendly and easy going, and - although budget conscious - always looking for a good time and new experiences.

A favourite travel book of mine is 'The Art of Travel' by Alain De Botton, and something I am really looking forward to is sharing my place with another traveller and encouraging each other to experience places from a new perspective.

I look forward to meeting other Couchsurfers and sharing what I have to offer.

PHILOSOPHY

At this stage in my life I'm trying to see the world while I'm young. While doing this I'm trying to discover what it is that I can do to make a difference to education, whether it be as a teacher or academic.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have been to different CS meetings in different cities: treks in Cordoba, pizza and beers in Argentina and frisbee in Buenos Aires! I CS'ed my way across the whole of Venezuela and it was definitely the best way of doing it.

I keep an eye on the group pages and contribute where I can.

I have surfed with several amazing hosts across South America, meeting their friends and families has been one of the best parts of my travel experience so far. Here is to many more!

Interests

History, sport (cycling, cricket, tennis, Australian Rules Football), education, politics, live music, good coffee, awesome food, new things and great people.

  • arts
  • books
  • education
  • dining
  • beer
  • coffee
  • politics
  • traveling
  • music
  • live music
  • cycling
  • sports
  • cricket
  • soccer
  • tennis
  • teaching
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books

Authors: John Grisham, Alain De Botton, Jo Nesbo, Stieg Larsson.

Books: The Millennium Trilogy, One Day, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, A Painted House.

Music: Arcade Fire, Bombay Bicycle Club, The Magic Numbers, Eminem and random 80's hits.

Movies: The Family Man, Gran Torino, Stranger Than Fiction, Romeo & Juliet and many more.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

An amazing thing I have done is spent the last 7 years working with children in England and Australia. Every day is different and more hilarious and memorable than the last.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can share what it means to me to be an educator and teach others the importance of education in our communities.

I would like to learn more about permaculture and political differences between our countries.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Beautiful beaches in the Algarve, some time around the small farm house that I am living in with a colleague from work, Latin America tips, wine and good times!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, England, Fiji, France, Malta, Netherlands, New Caledonia, Peru, Portugal, Spain, United Arab Emirates, Vanuatu, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Bolivia, England, Portugal

Join Couchsurfing to see Teddy’s full profile.

My Groups