Laura and Chris Beauchamp's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura and Chris’s full profile.


  • 8 references 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Italian
  • 40, Other
  • Member since 2010
  • Laura: Photographer / Filmaker Chris: Photographer / Film...
  • Laura: B.A. Archaeology, minor in Museum and Heritage Stu...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


We're two people lucky enough to be married to our best friend. We enjoy good food, coffee, good company, and the occasional drink. We're easygoing, cheerful, relaxed, and open to trying and doing new things. We both love learning.

Check out our blog for a good indication of what kind of people we are:

Watch our Youtube debut:

We officaly started two companies in September 2010. Chris works both of them "full-time".

Graphic design and branding:



Laura:I want to wake up everyday and be happy with what I am doing or where I am working. In the recent years I have lost touch with the experiences and activities that make me feel my best and the most alive. I want to find them again, like singing, dancing, pilates/yoga, and playing an instrument. I love trying new things. I love exploring this world with my husband.

Chris: I'm trying to define this constantly, but the main themes have always involved trying to find an alternative way to live; to use and enjoy the outputs of western civilizations that are genuinely meaningful and discard the ones that are empty and shallow. Basically I just want to never stop learning and growing.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


To us, travel is all about meeting the people that bring places to life. CS sounds like a perfect way to do that.

We had an 8-month journey from January 2010 - September 2010 and CS was a part of that journey. Now that we are settled in Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada we would like to give back to the community.

Please write us, we'd love to accommodate you if possible.


Wonderful and unique. So far we have attended one meeting in Antalya Turkey, hung out with Surfers over beer, coffee and sight seeing and had an excellent time staying with a very friendly man, Fatih, in Bucharest, Romania.


Laura likes yoga/pilates, dance classes, museums, hiking, live music, drama, photography, camping, plants, the sun, gardening, and food.

Chris likes photography, music (everything from punk rock to world folk), history, literature, cycling, travel (obviously), hiking, camping, art, and cooking meals with his lovely wife.

  • arts
  • literature
  • singing
  • design
  • graphic design
  • photography
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • beer
  • coffee
  • yoga
  • pilates
  • drinking
  • crafts
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • knitting
  • music
  • live music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • teaching
  • history
  • languages
  • tourism
  • sightseeing

Music, Movies, and Books

music - Calexico, Bright Eyes, Nomeansno, Johnny Cash, Propagandhi
movies - Cohen Brothers, Documentaries, Wes Anderson
books - Hemmingway, Stephen King, Orwell,

music - Jack Johnson, Michael Buble, Jazz, Folk, World
movies - Drama,Romance, Cartoons,
books - Tom Robbins, Hemmingway, historical fiction (honestly though, I'm not really a reader, I much prefer doing something).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Laura: Hiked the 75 kilometer West Coast Trail in 2009 with her husband and two friends. She also hiked 60 kilometers through the Sahara Desert with her husband, guide and two camels in May 2010. She has been through and survived jaw surgery, 8 years of braces, knee surgery on both knees, and four surgeries on her stomach after her gangrene appendix ruptured.

Chris: Chris cycled 220km on a single summer day in 2007 with a few friends to visit Laura far away. It was a long day.

Teach, Learn, Share

Chris can teach photography, and has in fact provided those lessons to all sorts of people in the past. He can also help with computer problems, is quite handy fixing things, and can solve all sorts of problems. As a professional editor. He can also help anyone with written or spoken English.

Laura is a heck of an entertainer, a dancer, and can teach crafts like knitting. She can teach some intro belly dance and tips on how to be a tour guide/interpreter/teacher.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France, Germany, Greece, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Jordan, Lebanon, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Russian Federation, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Italy, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Turkey

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura and Chris’s full profile.