Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see TIMMY_TOFU’s full profile.


  • 46 references 28 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, French, Swedish
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Computer Nerdologist
  • University of Pittsburgh
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Find myself a new direction there


I'm a computer engineer, I'm vegan, and I'm really into bikes and dumpster diving. I don't exactly love sprouts, but I do love sprouting them. I've been vegan for over seventeen years; it actually started as a joke, but ended up being a good idea so I stuck with it and consider it the best decision I've ever made. I love studying languages and in another universe I would've majored in linguistics or applied mathematics... maybe I still will. I speak French and a little bit of Chinese and Swedish and a lot of other nonsense, and do computational linguistic research and development. I love to cook, bake, et cetera.

I've lived in Amsterdam and Stockholm, then hitchhiked from Sweden to India, originally destined for Vietnam but got a bit weary of travel and decided to take a break and settle temporarily in Australia. After spending a bit longer doing that than expected, I got back on the (silk) road and lived in Thailand and Taiwan. Now I'm stuck back in New York but always planning my escape...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I've hosted 43 people over 64 nights.

Statistic masturbation: Taken on a hosting-occasion basis, at a rough average of 2 surfers and 3 nights per occasion, that makes over 180 people-nights of hosting. And counting...


Veganism. Bikes. Computer nerdology. Wikipedia. Dumpster diving. Psilocybin. Swing sets. Hitchhiking. Trivia. Linguistics. Juggling. Table-top and role play gaming. Cooking. Baking. Monster and zombie movies. Sprouts.

  • cooking
  • baking
  • vegan
  • trivia
  • movies
  • traveling
  • juggling
  • dumpster diving
  • cycling
  • scuba diving
  • engineering
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • hitchhiking

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hitchhiked from Sweden to India. Biked from Budapest to Rome.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'd love to find anyone that wants to help me practice my Mandarin, Swedish, or French. Or Spanish, or Thai, or whatever else you got.

Or someone who can help me sew better, or be more crafty in general. And anyone who likes experimental cooking together - right now I'm really interested in learning how to make raw nutmeat cheeses/patés (as well as my usual fascination with Indian and Asian foods).

I can teach you computer crapola, biking skills, English, how to juggle, vegan cooking/baking...

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bahamas, Bulgaria, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Haiti, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kosovo, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mexico, Pakistan, Palestine, Philippines, Poland, Puerto Rico, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada, Netherlands, Sweden, Taiwan, Thailand, United States

Old School Badges

  • 9 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see TIMMY_TOFU’s full profile.

My Groups