GUITARBOY's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see GUITARBOY’s full profile.

Overview

  • 82 references 49 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Spanish
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Eternal Student
  • Every day a little better...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

"My favorite thing is to go where I've never been" - Diane Arbus

Since I've moved to Vienna, I'm not able to host (house rule unfortunately). But am happy to show people around and explore the city I'm still getting to know myself...

ABOUT ME

All about me? Well, like many people, I was born... As a general rule, I'm not that complicated. Sometimes I like to make plans, sometimes I like to be spontaneous and go with the flow. My ideal night probably begins with a good meal, a decent bottle of wine and some good company. Sometimes that leads to me falling asleep at midnight, other times that leads to me crawling home at 7am the next morning... I love cooking. If you stay at my place I will try my best to feed you (if you're vegetarian or have allergies etc. please tell me in your CS request). If you're hosting me, I'd be happy to cook for/with you. I also love dancing, particularly Lindy Hop and/or Charleston. I study Social Sciences and I began a Masters Course in Roskilde in September 2015. Now I'm in Vienna for the second year. I'll graduate in July 2017. I'm always open to talk about politics, literature, travel, photography, history, music, art... Since I created this profile 10 years ago, photography has probably become my biggest passion - even more than guitar! Maybe I should be Photoboy now... I have a rather dark, sarcastic British sense of humour, which often seems to be mistaken for me being unhappy... I'm almost always not - I just find humour in funny places... Sometimes, all you can do is laugh.

If you stay with me, you'll probably share my room (I have a spare mattress). My room has a 'lived in' feel - I try to keep the rest of the house tidy for my housemates, but I'm fine with a little disorganization in my room... You are free to feel at home there :)

PHILOSOPHY

You work that out as you go: but whatever stage you're at, you've got to respect other people. Honesty is the best policy.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Whether I'm hosting or surfing, I like to try and spend time with my guests/hosts. Cooking dinner / visiting sights / going out etc...

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

over 10 years of good experiences!

Interests

I enjoy singing/playing guitar; photography; cooking; reading; going out and dancing; meeting people; drinking coffee; traveling, of course...

  • arts
  • literature
  • singing
  • photography
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • wine
  • coffee
  • vegetarian
  • drinking
  • politics
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • guitar
  • surfing
  • teaching
  • history
  • psychology
  • social science

Music, Movies, and Books

Fave Films: Ché; Into the Wild; The Motorcycle Diaries; High Fidelity; Walk The Line; Capote; Napoleon Dynamite; Waste Land; The Shawshank Redemption.

Fave books: Generally, I love stuff by John Steinbeck; Hermann Hesse; Milan Kundera; Haruki Murakami... As for non-fiction: Naomi Klein, Howard Zinn, Joseph Stiglitz...

Fave Music: Anything that makes me want to move... That used to be indie, brit-pop and pop-punk/ska when I was young, then rock and alternative... Now it can be anything from Classical to Hip-Hop, Swing to Electro and EDM...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Every new bit of the world that I see...

South America.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you a little guitar, a little photography, a little cookery, a little of a lot of things... What can I learn from you?

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am happy to cook for you. I can play guitar/sing for you. I can help you with your English if your are learning (I worked for 8 years as an English Teacher). I can teach you to dance basic Lindy Hop...

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Denmark, England, France, Germany

Old School Badges

  • 8 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see GUITARBOY’s full profile.

My Groups