Mike Horst's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mike’s full profile.


  • 209 references 140 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Hindi, Spanish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Comfort Consultant
  • Everyone has something I can learn from. Each day is a ne...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Make your day.


Hey there CS world! I'm Mike from Toledo!

I'm a Comfort Consultant. Basically I work with home/business owners to reduce their carbon footprint while maximizing cost savings and comfort.

Also, I'm just in the right place at the right time. That's how I discovered CS at least. The place was Krakow and the time was the summer of 08' but that's a story in itself.

I enjoy finding common ground with everyone. Whats your story?

I've always been pulled in so many different directions. Music, sports, partying, learning. I'd miss one without the other. Gardening, yoga, blacksmithing, foreign language, travel... Probably not even halfway.

Communication is a beautiful thing amongst good people like Couchsurfers. We can learn so much from one another and that process is never ending so I can never justify or accept boredom.

These days I tend to jam a full time work schedule and coach lacrosse though I love Couchsurfing, hosting, meeting at basically any opportunity!

I'm fortunate enough to make friends in many places so don't be a stranger if we've met before.

I love to play instruments, sing, and dance, and love to share those things with others. There's a rhythm in my life as constant as my heartbeat..


"Nothing is worth more than this day" ~Goethe

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I've seen wonderful things through travel, and CS has taught me that everyone can teach me something. I want to build the local network to do just that around here. Also, there is still so much left of the world including America to explore, meeting surfers out there that I've yet to meet!


I randomly discovered CS when I met Sonia (who at the time, was checking travellers into a hostel) in Krakow, Poland. We made it to a CS potluck hosted by Chilly. Sonia already had three Portuguese CSers on the way, but said I was more than welcome to surf her couch as well! I was refreshed by the people I met through these events (especially compared w/ some of the ones I had been travelling with) and reentered the US (too) soon after that ready to get more involved in the project.


December 08'
Several dozen Csers converged on Scottsboro, AL and the Lost Baggage Warehouse. That's where all the disappearing checked baggage goes to be sold again at a discount. We (CSers w/ much organization from NathanNinja) rented a entire cabin for 30+ people for a wonderful time! (My first super-awesome CS (roadtrip)experience in the US!)



2 oz. rum, rum, rum, rum, rum (or other spirits, as we CSers are a resourceful bunch :)
1/2 oz. Amaretto
4 oz. pineapple juice
splash grenadine

Pour ingredients into a highball glass over ice. Garnish with a lime wheel.

We'd love hearing any suggestions on this drink!
Mid to Late May 09'

The Detroit Couch Crash was the best CS weekend within an hour of home I've had yet! I was fortunate enough to host the pre-party at 'the cottage' and shared a beautiful evening w/ CSers and non-CSers alike. That weekend at DEMF and several Michigan CSers homes have created lasting friendships with some great people. I've even been able to see some of them since and I'll try to get out and see more of you soon...suggestions help! :)

Late August 09- early September

Burning Man: Evolution, the playa, and Couchsurfing Camp at 6:00 and Fossil were simly inexplicably wonderful places to be last summer at exactly the right time in my life...


Another Detroit Couch Crash and now even a Chicago Couch Crash later.... life is good!


Playing music! (brass, bass, drums, singing, love it all!) cooking, yoga, sport + exercise, hiking, swimming, boating! Fishing (catch & release please!), riding, conversation. I also have a green thumb, but a sorter growing season in Ohio than I'd like sometimes.

  • chickens
  • singing
  • fashion
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • wine
  • potluck
  • exercise
  • yoga
  • coach
  • partying
  • drinking
  • gardening
  • boating
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • music
  • guitar
  • piano
  • drums
  • r&b music
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • skiing
  • sports
  • wrestling
  • swimming
  • lacrosse
  • business

Music, Movies, and Books

Music! All of it! I love me some live music. I'm into musicianship more than showmanship and have instruments around if you're not able to bring one with you.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Opening for the R&B musician Monica on my 21st birthday with my band (at the time), Chaos. We simultaneously shared the stage/runway w/ fashion models and gave them Neo-Soul, Funk, and R&B via our multi-ethnic, multi-national band. :) Reminded me that music and love are colorblind.

Looking back over my shoulder, I've seen so much change and just as much growth. Sometimes it's amazing just to still be here.

We built a house for a deserving family, The Frisch's. Their service to the community is amazing so we built them a better home with Extreme Home Makeover in Toledo. Also, I went shrimp farming in Whitehouse, Ohio, nrea where I'm from.

Couchsurfing, Couchcrashing, and Couchinvading!

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach- I love to share my love of music, yoga, fire spinning as well as sports like lacrosse and wrestling, cooking, wine sipping, gardening (Bonzai trees to chickens, bees to quinoa :) Camping, kayaking, thermodynamics & HVAC, fishing, more watersports like tubing and skiing, ATV riding, and more. (Bass) guitar. Mathleticism.

Learn- I'd love to learn more guitar and piano. I also would like to work on my salsa (both dancing and garden varieties), draw/sketch and surf. I would like to learn to ice skate and become a master gardener. I'd also like to improve my Spanish, por favor.

Share- my cooking (i'm an omnivore but you don't have to be :), the beautiful green space around me, my experiences, hugs and my couch. Veggies, fruits, and herbs too while they're in season!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Puerto Rico, Saint Lucia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Virgin Islands, British, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Ireland, Spain, United States

Old School Badges

  • 24 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Mike’s full profile.

My Groups