Aaron Gerry's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Aaron’s full profile.

Overview

  • 2 references 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Freelance journalist and editor
  • B.S. in Biology from Northeastern University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Living in CDMX. I like to climb and be in the mountains, read, write, cook here and there, board games, meaningful conversations, genuine people.

I spent about 7 years in startups and since then I've worked on a farm, taught entrepreneurship in Ghana, and travelled through Eastern Europe for a year. Now I'm intent on making a living from writing.

More or less I am: Open and willing to try anything once (see, food: I've eaten pig uterus -- it was chewier than anticipated); Prone to drive/ walk/ bike down streets I've never been on before; Unabashedly curious about the world.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To explore the world, meet people with different background and experiences, drink good wine with new friends, check out the local music scene (jazz, funk, afro, fusion stuff)!

Interests

  • writing
  • poetry
  • concerts
  • dining
  • marathon
  • running
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • bouldering
  • coding
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • business
  • parks
  • farming
  • organic farming

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: "The Master and Margarita" is still a favorite. I tend to enjoy lost souls or delinquents ("Journey by Moonlight", "The Monkey Wrench Gang", "Tropic of Cancer", "Savage Detectives"). Can't go wrong with Philip K. Dick. I don't care what you say but I quite like Jack Kerouac and Ernest Hemingway.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I built a venture accelerator in college that helps students start their own business and raise venture money ($30M+ raised so far!).

Teach, Learn, Share

Learning Spanish (hoping to get passably conversational in the next few months) and diddling around with the ukelele.

Starting to practice Italian. Maybe Croatian too? I really want to learn Hungarian, Georgian, Albanian, and other lesser spoken languages, but I keep waffling about this.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Let's go climbing!

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Czech Republic, England, Germany, Ghana, Hungary, Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Taiwan, Turkey, Ukraine

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ghana, Mexico, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Aaron’s full profile.

My Groups