Abbie Walters's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 10% response rate
  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Abbie’s full profile.


  • 58 references 40 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 36, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Mental health support worker
  • A levels and some university
  • From Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Please note: from 12 June 2022 I will still be hosting but not on here, due to being appalled by the total ruin of couch surfing, with sudden enforced payment, to even just access our information, let alone surf or host, including for the hosts who built couch surfing and where promised they would never be made to pay. I will of course still be hosting on other platforms, but won’t be returning to here until/unless they honour their promise and re-instate free / earned membership to the hosts who made the once great community great, and offer a refund to those who like myself paid just to access their info to export and make a serious apology for lying and ruining a once great community! I will still be accepting requests through here until then (as I’ve paid until then anyway), but do not have the funds to continue paying the compulsory contributions and even if I did I would not do so out of principle!

I an currently back in my house in “Sunny Bournemouth” I am trying to create a tranquil place in suburbia where I can eventually hosts groups of like minded individuals with volunteers teaching various natural skills etc. and am hosting volunteers through various work exchange platforms (a few hours help in exchange for accommodation). I also occasionally host paying guests/have lodgers, therefore I am happy to accept couch surfers for ONE NIGHT, depending on other guests (so last minute requests only please) but would ask for discretion especially at times where paying or work exchange guests are present. Longer stays (more than one night) are generally possible but on a help exchange basis (5 hours work in exchange for accommodation), to be fair to others. Please either ask for link to my Facebook group or ask for details of current projects (sometimes there will be fun eco projects with the opportunity to learn new skills and other times it will be just decorating housework and gardening etc).

Hi I'm a fun loving girl, always looking to meet new people and for new experiences. I worked for several years in mental health, but I’m currently not working due to health and will be looking to find something that is more suited to traveling and exploring when I am well enough, until I find where I want to settle, but I will always have itchy feet and want to travel until I’m too old and frail for them to let me on the plane. I like being out in nature, good food, cheese, wine and cocktails, and my perfect evening is either sat around a camp fire or listening to the waves on the beach with good company. I'm open minded and happy to chat to anyone about anything. There’s not much people can say that will shock me 😉 ... I’m a good listener and seem to somehow help others with their problems but I’m not always so great with my own 🙈. Always happy to do anything I can for anyone 😁.

Please note my health is deteriorating and I’m not able to host in the way I could before or to drive guests around and will sometimes have to leave guests to their own devises almost completely (if I am having one of my flare ups and not well enough to socialise or cook). There is always some food available and guests are always welcome to help themselves as long as they clean up. The house is also not in the state it normally is in again due to my health, so there will always be a bed and clean bedding (you might have to make it yourself) but elsewhere is not up to my usual standard due to health and lack of support. It is also essential that noise is kept to a minimum (please turn phone tones off and don’t be watching videos or listening to music that can be heard outside of the room you are staying in / when trying to talk to me) as I cannot filter out background noise.

Please note: I am not looking for “hook up” if you want to find someone to hook up with use tinder! I’m not interested and that’s not what couch surfing is for! Anyone who contacts looking for that will be reported and blocked!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To meet new and interesting people to share amazing experiences with and learn about others cultures.


Travel, eco living, recycling, natural buildings, community projects, cooking, skiing (no longer ski since serious accident), cycling, Watersports, snorkelling, waterfalls, anything outdoors, shopping, socialising, cocktails, arty things, campervans, motorbikes, fine dining, safaris, cats (big and small), Interior design, trying new things.

  • animals
  • cats
  • environment
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • cheese
  • cocktails
  • bbq
  • fine dining
  • walking
  • motorcycles
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • snorkeling
  • volunteering
  • budget travel
  • beaches
  • nature
  • sustainability
  • waterfalls
  • rollerblading
  • recycling
  • wild camping
  • campfires
  • sunsets
  • community
  • solar energy
  • natural building
  • crafting
  • self-sufficiency
  • interior decorating
  • eco
  • campervan
  • safari
  • off grid living
  • earthships
  • free camping
  • work exchange

Music, Movies, and Books

I like a variety of music, films and books depending on what mood I'm in (although since my head injury I can’t cope with anything with a heavy, fast or multiple beats for too long, and cannot talk to people when there is music on) but I prefer to be out doing things to reading or watching about them ☺️

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I nearly got charged by a heard of buffalo on safari in South Africa, traveling down to greece and back in my van with Phoebe the cat, the wonderful people I met volunteering on an earthship house in Oz.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love learning new things, sharing my experiences and hearing about theirs

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can offer somewhere to sleep either in my house or my caravan or cabin or possibly space for a tent or small camper etc if preferred. It will often be a private space but depending on number of guests it might be shared (please ask if this would be a problem). I often share meals with guests (I’m not vegetarian but happy to eat veggie or vegan food and 90% of what I cook is pescatarian at least). I am very happy to be cooked for and especially love trying different things from around the world :) There’s a shared cupboard for guests to help themselves to but please contribute to re-stocking or leave a donation. I’m sometimes free to go on trips together and have a big people carrier but it depends how busy I am and how often I’ve been to places recently ;). There’s also a washing machine so can often do a bit of laundry for you (please ask me to do it for you, don’t use yourself as the machine is temperamental).

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Cabo Verde, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, England, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Kenya, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mauritius, Morocco, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Philippines, Poland, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, England

Join Couchsurfing to see Abbie’s full profile.