Abhimanyu Kar's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 93% response rate
  • Last login 9 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Abhimanyu’s full profile.

Overview

  • 52 references 41 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Assamese, Bengali, Bangla, English; learning Dari Persian, Hindi, Urdu
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2018
  • Assistant Professor
  • PhD
  • From Kolkata, West Bengal, India
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I have always loved to explore places as a way of gathering knowledge about the world. I loved to travel to unusual places to break stereotypes and come know how really people and cultures are. I am travelling solo since my college days before "solo" travel became a buzzword. I used to read the Oxford School Atlas as if it is a storybook and I still do the same with satellite maps of today. But I guess most people in the CS community are like that. But just like a typical middle class person I settled for a typical job and can only travel during breaks. Now I mostly travel with my wife with whom I share the same passion. We love hosting as it gives us a lot in terms of experience.

Sivasagar is a historic town preparing for UNESCO World Heritage Site. I hail from Kolkata and work in an Engineering College here. My wife is from Guwahati. There are many historic sights in this small town. Plus you can visit Northern Nagaland and Eastern Arunachal from here. My home is located right on the highway, so it is very easy to reach.

We recently moved in late 2020 from Guwahati, where we have hosted a good amount of people. Vegetarians or people with other kinds of food restrictions are strongly discouraged to come at my place as we eat a wide range of things and are not always prepared to cook a separate meal for the guest. But there have been a few good exceptions -- people who could rather take charge of cooking. If you avoid pork, beef or any other kind of meat please mention while sending request.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love to travel and mix with people from different cultures. Solo travel and Photography have always my hobbies since college, but sometimes get hit due to career compulsions.
I now have a reasonably good infrastructure to host in my rented appartment. Read the home section for details.

Interests

  • photography
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • music
  • languages
  • cultures

Music, Movies, and Books

I love soft music across all genres and cultures, art films and Books or different countries and culture.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Living a normal life is amazing enough!

Teach, Learn, Share

I love cooking and would be eager to learn your cuisine. Same applies for language and culture.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Interesting conversations, food, experiences, information about the town and North East India in general.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bangladesh, Bhutan, Hong Kong, Italy, Malaysia, South Korea

Countries I’ve Lived In

India

Join Couchsurfing to see Abhimanyu’s full profile.

My Groups