Sha Sha .'s Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sha Sha’s full profile.

Overview

  • 102 references 68 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Sign Language - American, Spanish
  • 36, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Maintain happiness
  • Life is an education
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

I like thoughtful conversation and especially appreciate people that can avoid small talk and go deeper. There is also a place for silence and I appreciate that we don't need endless chatter just to fill the space between us.

I've been wandering around for the last five years. I can tell you about roadtripping around the States in my car for 1.5 years, doing a working holiday visa in Australia for a year, buying a campervan in NZ and driving it around the islands for a few months, working as a cook on a science station in Antarctica or taking it back to a decade ago living in London followed by backpacking around Europe. I'm guessing things have changed a bit since that last one when I didn't have a smartphone and my first stop was always the tourist office for an actual map.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

We've all heard "you let strangers come into your home and sleep on your couch" or "you go into strangers' homes and sleep on their couches" asked with surprise. People who share and open their homes are a special breed. We know the world can be a shit show, but just as much as I believe in the bad in the world, I firmly believe in the good. I get tired of the convos about how the CS website/attitude has changed and you can't find quality people anymore. You can. You just have to seek out the ones with whom you jive the most.

Interests

I am very much a people person and like to do things in the company of good people. I enjoy all of the following and most other activities in between: hiking, biking, cooking, sustainable living, laughing, photography, growing plants, discovering street murals, counting shooting stars, podcasts, salsa, bachata, contra, puns, languages, small crowd live music, volunteering, singing.

Music, Movies, and Books

Books! I read everything I could get my hands on as a kid. My favorite genres were Adventure/Sci-Fi/Fantasy, but I'll try most genres now. I've been quite into memoirs recently.

I love music for dancing and singing and roadtripping...I'll take it all. I dig most genres even if only a few songs. A few artists I'm into in no particular order: Hozier, SZA, Banks, Lizzo, The Deep Dark Woods, Johnny Cash, Dua Lipa, Lauryn Hill, Sam Cooke, Patsy Cline, Buena Vista Social Club, Pentatonix, Etta James, Alt-J, The National. I grew up on 90s Hip Hop and RnB.

I was one of those kids that could tell what time it was by what was on TV, I watched it that much. I still like it, but I know I'll get sucked in so I now view TV and movies as a social activity. Down to watch something with friends, but not too much otherwise. Comedies, stand up, docos and cooking shows are my jam.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Gone out into the world alone and learned what it takes to make it through.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can now say I've taught salsa dancing lessons in Antarctica so I can show a few moves. Always down to learn a new partner dance. Would love to learn some knots. I used to climb in a gym, and I've only done a handful of bouldering/climbing outside so I'd really like to try more. The day I stop learning is the day I die. Just in 2019, so far I've taken a Spanish class, swim lessons, a bike mechanic workshop and have been studying ASL on my own. I could always use motivation to continue practicing all of these things.

What I Can Share with Hosts

All of the conversation or silence; your preference. Respect for your place and cleaning up after myself. Travel stories. Sarcasm. Laughter. Cooking. I'll sing if you request, but you'll have to coax it out of me.

I LEAVE REFERENCES! They make this whole thing go round.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Antarctica, Australia, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Sha Sha’s full profile.

My Groups