AJ Patel's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 15 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see AJ’s full profile.

Overview

  • 16 references 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Medical Student
  • B.Sc., M.Sc., MD (2024)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey! I'm AJ, from Toronto (Mississauga) - I'm currently in London, ON for medical school.

I love travelling and plan on continuing to explore whenever I get the time (and money!) I've travelled around Canada, the US, North and South India, Greece, the Balkans, and East Africa (Kenya and Tanzania). Some personal travel highlights for me have been seeing the Great Migration in the Serengeti, climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro, hiking in Zion National Park (in Utah), going to a lecture by the Dalai Lama in Dharamshala, visiting Mt Athos, and getting lost at 3 AM in Himachal Pradesh.

In addition to travel, my interests/hobbies include powerlifting, animal rights/veganism, ice hockey, physics, and sci-fi. I'm also learning French through Duolingo.com, which is turning out to be a lot harder (but also a lot more fun) than I thought.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

This is probably disgustingly cliché, but one of the main reasons I want to travel is to truly experience and get a feel for other cultures. I'd hate to travel to an unfamiliar place and only interact with other tourists that I meet in hostels. Couchsurfing seems like a great way to safely experience another part of the world! I'd also love to host for similar reasons. The opportunity to open my home to someone from another walk of life and learn about each other seems amazing.

Interests

  • cooking
  • vegan
  • running
  • powerlifting
  • reading
  • traveling
  • backpacking
  • astronomy
  • medicine
  • philosophy
  • physics
  • solo travel

Music, Movies, and Books

I know everybody says this, but I really listen to everything. My favourite genres are probably reggae, Kurdish folk music, and Mongolian/Tuvan throat singing.

I'll watch pretty much anything, but sci-fi will always be my favourite (if any sci-fi fans happen to be reading this, watch "Moon." Trust me.)

As for books, I enjoy sci-fi and fantasy, but (just like music and books) I'll read anything. I've also written a few short stories, but they're not great lol

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

When I was travelling in Himachal (India), I slept overnight in a bus stop (that's a long story in itself). When I woke up, there was another traveller sleeping on the bench next to mine. We ended up becoming friends and travelling together for a while. It might not sound that amazing, but it's the reason I love solo travelling - this is just one of many examples of how solo travel allowed me the opportunity to meet new people and make meaningful connections.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm a great cook! I can make you a really good tofu scramble, coconut milk curry, stir fry, etc!

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahamas, Belize, Canada, Cayman Islands, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Greece, Guatemala, India, Iraq, Italy, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Macedonia, Mexico, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, Portugal, Saint Martin (French part), Sint Maarten (Dutch part), Switzerland, Tanzania, Turkey, Turks and Caicos Islands, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Virgin Islands, British, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Greece

Join Couchsurfing to see AJ’s full profile.