Ale Fernández's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 73% response rate
  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ale’s full profile.


  • 52 references 33 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Portuguese, Russian
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Marketing & Communication Manager
  • M.A in Strategic Communication (Universitat Rovira i Virg...
  • From San Carlos, Maldonado, Uruguay
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

📍Currently in Montevideo

Before you send me a message: I prefer hosting people who have already hosted themselves. If you surfed 50 times but hosted 0 times, I will most likely not reply to your message.

10 weird facts about me:

1) I hate butter :(
2) My moustache looks like Salvador Dali's.
3) I used to say I didn't like rice and I was "ideologically" against it, until I succumbed to sushi and Indian food.
4) My main hobby nowadays is sewing. I have a sewing machine and create clothes all the time.
5) I try to only eat healthy food but I have a big weakness: mayonnaise.
6) I can eat a lemon without making funny faces
7) I haven’t drunk Coca-Cola since 2012. I even forgot why. Lol.
8) I think pigeons and frogs are the most adorable animals in the universe (I have both of them tattooed)
9) I have a Cyrillic F tattoed on my hand. It's a reference to the "Press F to pay respects" meme.
10) Sometimes I feel like I'm 80 years old and I love to go feed ducks

Less irrelevant information:

25 years old. Bachelor in Communication (UdelaR). Master's in Strategic Communication (Universitat Rovira i Virgili)

I consider myself funny, and really sarcastic, my sense of humour gets feed by dank memes and shitposting (lol). Even though this, I have a serious face most of the time haha.
I love learning new things and having conversations exchanging about our cultures with people from other parts of the world. I’m very open-minded and hate prejudices.
Also, experiencing different cultures from the inside is maybe what I like most in life. Thanks couchsurfing.

Some of my hobbies and passions:
* As I said before, I love sewing
* I play the bass
* I'm a meme expert, I know almost everything about memes and also make them. I'm a memelord.
* I love learning about cultures, history and linguistics all the time.
* I love playing chess (my elo is 1300 on blitz) and I used to teach the kids in my neighborhood how to play it.
* I go to the gym three times a week

I’ve been on couchsurfing since I’m 18 and I’ve hosted people from all over the world, most of them at my parents house in San Carlos but also in Montevideo. I have been hosted too in Brazil, Argentina, Chile, Bolivia, Spain, Romania and Serbia. Thanks to couchsurfing I have met a lot of incredible people.

"Lo que aprendí a tomarme en serio en esta vida es a no tomar la vida demasiado en serio"

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

*creo que para realmente conocer un lugar es importante verlo desde la perspectiva de sus habitantes.
*amo el intercambio cultural.
* no me gustan los hoteles
* amo conocer nuevas personas
* disfruto hablando otros idiomas
* es una forma de escapar de la rutina


  • music
  • live music
  • outdoor activities
  • food
  • communication
  • university
  • freestyle
  • freestyle rap

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I used to be a music elitist when I was around 15 years old haha then i become more mature and now i listen mostly to rap, trap, reggaeton, deathcore, pop punk, etc.

Books: I looove reading, I like detective novels, mistery novels, science fiction, etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

*Irme 20 días de viaje con alguien que conocí un par de semanas antes de salir.
* Cruzar el Atlántico para estudiar una maestría en España en plena pandemia.
* Escaparme a Macedonia por 3 semanas cuando la situación del covid en españa me abrumó
* Alquilar un auto y recorrer villas y pueblitos en el sur de Macedonia.
* Exploring the balkans while I was writing my master's thesis :)

Teach, Learn, Share

No hay lugar como el hogar, dicen. Y yo me siento en casa en todos lados.

What I Can Share with Hosts

with hosts:
* my sense of humour
* my cooking skills
* an interesting conversation

with surfers:
* Uruguayan Culture and food. A tour explaining the story of my city and a little about Uruguayan history. I can borrow my parents' car to show couchsurfers the area (Punta del Este, Punta Ballena, San Carlos, Piriápolis)
* an interesting talk with my parents haha

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Germany, Macedonia, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Spain, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Spain, Uruguay

Join Couchsurfing to see Ale’s full profile.

My Groups