Alena Dorokhina's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alena’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Russian; learning French, Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • UI designer
  • Culture histories
  • From Siberia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

See south of Europe and North Africa. I've just started my constant traveling again and now trying not to fail at it (i.e. not to go back home because I'm scared or spent all my savings). Trying to do things that I was scared to do earlier. Looking for some new experience, improving my traveling and communication skills.

ABOUT ME

I'm a designer and studied art&culture history, enjoying contemporary philosophy (I'm a huge book lover) and art. When I come to a new place I usually go straight away to a museum of contemporary art or a museum cafe to write down my thoughts. I'm a quiet type spending most of my time traveling by myself with books and my laptop (I work every day while traveling to earn money for these trips).

PHILOSOPHY

I've seen this on someone's profile and it's fantastic —> “Let no one ever come to you without leaving better and happier".

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Just started, looking for some exciting memories, because sometimes traveling by myself is not enough.

I found a great CS host in Cadiz (thanks, Manuel!) and discovered that CS is about friendship and fun and trust and I never thought that a complete stranger would treat me like we are being friends for a long time. That's fantastic.

I still think that during my stay I should be at least not making someone's life more complicated (i.e. I will not make parties or smoke in your house). And the goal is, for sure, to become friends and have a great time together, spending it together like we both want to, doing things that we love and getting new experience.

// PLEASE, if you have only your bed to share, please, do tell about it in advance. I have an amazing boyfriend, I love him more than life, and I'm not interested in one-night stands or sharing a bed with some cute guy. Thanks.

Interests

drawing, writing, reading lots of books, walking a lot, hiking, sitting in a cafe and read books and drink coffee, Himalaya mountains, climbing, swimming, contemporary art, cultures history, art history, design

  • insects
  • arts
  • culture
  • writing
  • books
  • design
  • contemporary art
  • breakfast
  • coffee
  • walking
  • partying
  • drinking
  • flying
  • boating
  • reading
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • hiking
  • camping
  • sailing
  • bungee jumping
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • art history
  • business
  • history
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Right now I'm reading Paul Bowles — The Spider's House. I like Bertolucci, Herzog, Philip Seymour Hoffman.

Lars von Trier, Wes Anderson, Almodovar, Sofia Coppola
Georg Baselitz, Otto Kirchner
Ulrich Schnauss, John Hopkins

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Went by myself to Everest Base Camp without guides or porters (it took me 3 weeks). Had no trekking experience at all. Didn't know how to use a compass. Learned a lot.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to take beautiful photos, how to look at contemporary art, how to draw a sheep, how to design a business card
Would love to learn how to play musical instruments, to try any new sports.

I dream about:
— Bungee jumping
— Wingsuit flying
— Eating some insects
— Going somewhere on a sailing boat!
— Living in a mobile home for a while
— Learn how to drive a car/motorcycle :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

As I said, I will, at least, try to be a very polite, quiet and cheerful guest. If I have some money I'd love to treat you with a breakfast. I would love to spend an evening together walking around the city and talking. Most days I have to work from 9 till 6, so probably I will stay at home working quietly, and going for a walk in the evening.

Countries I’ve Visited

Brazil, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Iceland, India, Italy, Latvia, Netherlands, Russian Federation, Serbia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

India, Italy, Russian Federation, Serbia

Join Couchsurfing to see Alena’s full profile. It’s free!