Oleksandr Tkachynskyi's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Oleksandr’s full profile.

Overview

  • 30 references 23 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English, Russian, Ukrainian; learning Belarusian, French, Turkish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Kyiv, Ukraine.
  • Sociology department in KPI (Kyiv)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a sociologist and non-profit NGO activist (Foundation of Regional Initiatives). Currently I work at British Council Ukraine at Active Citizens programme.

I've visited 35 countries in Europe and Asia during my bachelor study, but now I rarely go out of the country. Most of my recent travels are job-related.

I can host you for 1-2 days in Kyiv, if you're about my age and understand what comfort zone is:)

Any musicians, hitchhikers or NGO activists are welcome.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Meeting new people is the easiest way to discover different cultures all around the world and CS provides lots of advantages for that.

Interests

Mainly, I’m interested in non-formal education, social science, politics and modern art. My other hobby is simulation games, which I both design and moderate.

  • writing
  • poetry
  • guitar
  • sociology

Music, Movies, and Books

Balthazar, Tom Waits, Chinawoman, Elliott Smith, Joan Baez, Regina Spektor, Arctic Monkeys, Norah Jones, Zaz, Rey Charles, Johnny Cash.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

8-month hitchhiking trip to Asia.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can share some experience about working with a Harvard professor in Syberia,
travelling with Chinese mafia and other multicultural things, as well as tell some stories about Ukranian Youth and NGOs.
Also can share and translate some nice examples of Ukrainian modern poetry.
And, of course, our traditional cousine:)

What I Can Share with Hosts

My buddist soul, my Ukrainian food,
and my open heart.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bulgaria, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, England, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lithuania, Mongolia, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uzbekistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ukraine

Join Couchsurfing to see Oleksandr’s full profile.

My Groups