Alex G's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile.


  • 11 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Croatian, Czech, English, Russian; learning Kazakh
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • program director
  • PhD - Harvard University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


When travelling, I love to see as many things as I can in any given matter what they are or how far out of my way I have to go to get there...this probably needs to be diagnosed by a physician. But, I also love certain things that don't require too much frenetic energy...long views over the sea, sunsets, mountain breezes, and the like. I'm friendly, good-natured, and still working to figure out what happens when I have to settle down and stay in one place more than a year! I would love to meet you in Boston, my current home-town, or abroad.

Have spent two years in Russia with extensive travel. Lived in Republic of Georgia. Lived in Australia. Lived and Studied in Czech and Croatia.


Let people have the chance to show goodwill, and you will be amazed at the results. This seems to be the lesson of couchsurfing.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Always be prepared to trust the kindness of strangers...that being said, couchsurfers aren't strangers



Music, Movies, and Books

Radetsky March by Joseph Roth
Eugene Onegin by Alexander Pushkin
The Man Without Qualities by Robert Musil
The History of the Peloponnesian War by Thucydides
Independent People by Halldor Laxness
Embers by Sandor Marai

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Climbed for three days up into Tusheti (Republic of Georgia) and had a nice lunch with some former Chechen rebels (lamb stew and coffee with some fried bread).

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Norway, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Saint Lucia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, Uzbekistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Russian Federation, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile.

My Groups