Alexis Tristan's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 81% response rate
  • Last login about 12 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexis’s full profile.

Overview

  • 27 references 23 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 73, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • Retired
  • Life
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

NOTE: FULLY booked through October 14th. Please send request for dates AFTER 10/15/21.

NOTE: ONLY accepting requests from CSers who have hosted themselves. It is time for me to pay back Couch Surfing hosts who have contributed to keeping couch surfing alive and well.

Your stay at the Tristan Compound provides you with fluffy towels and robe in your private bathroom and fresh linens in your sleeping room. Because it takes time to prepare these things, I ask for a two day minimum and seven day maximum stay.

I was a successful and appreciated host for four years - 2010 to 2014. I then had a partner live here and was unable to host. I am back wearing my host hat and look forward to my wonderful world travelers. I have many thank you notes from my surfers and I hope some of them from those years will find my profile and put references here.

I am retired yet busy with yoga, dog walking, streaming movies and TV, volunteering as a tax preparer and hosting couch surfers.

I stopped working, got my contractor's license, tied on a tool belt and built my house spending 2 1/2 years to build the home of my dreams. The result is a wonderful home with a separate building which has a small private room for my couch surfers as well as a private bath in the house.

No smoking or vaping of tobacco or weed within 25 feet of any entrance. There is a marijuana store close by but you can only gain admittance with a valid US drivers license and are 21+. No passports accepted.

Arrival at my home before 9:00 p.m. only.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I hosted for four years and had terrific surfers 98% of the time. I heard stories of travels around the world, interesting lives back in their home countries and the thrill of showing another peek into life in a peaceful and serene environment here in Seattle.
Sorry, but due to bad experiences, I cannot host anyone without host references. I would love to help you, as a new surfer obtain your first reference but my kindness was not repaid in the past. So, for security reasons, I must decline newbies.

Interests

  • movies
  • tv
  • diy projects
  • my dogs
  • crocheting items for the homeless

Music, Movies, and Books

Favorite non-fiction books of the last ten years: "Dreamland" and "The Path to Power" and "Playing Dead" "Pharma" anything by Michael Lewis plus "Why We Sleep" - last is a must-read
Recent Favs: "Difficult Men" "Educated" "Shrill" "We Will Never Meet in Real Life"
Music: Anything that has Buddha Bar in the title and the soundtrack from "Big Little Lies"
Podcasts: Hidden Brain, Freakonomics, The Moth, Criminal, Modern Love and Dear Sugars and can't say enough about "Here's the Thing"
Movies: Actually TV series: The Sopranos, Rescue Me, The Wire, Deadwood, Sex and the City, Damages and unfortunately of late, House of Cards (still love it even with its new baggage- British original is a must see also). Best of all time, IMHO, is Breaking Bad. Update: Raising Wolves, Mare of Easttown, Flack

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have traveled to 46 countries, including being the rare US passport holder who spent 4 days and 3 nights in Pyongyang, North Korea. Started my own business at 19. Went back to college at 50 to study math. Built my own home with a master craftsman and a part-time helper. Had both of my homes featured in periodicals. Volunteered for ten seasons doing tax returns for low-income taxpayers. Volunteered as a Certified Long-term Care Ombudsman, visiting and solving problems for residents of adult family homes. Now back to being a tax preparer.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have experience teaching needle arts, can help repair almost anything, and love customizing clothing and shoes. I share my decades of life experience, my thorough knowledge of the Puget Sound area and my love of animals.

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexis’s full profile.