Alexia Pittman's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexia’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 53 References 44 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 59, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • I am a supervisor and case manager for persons with intel...
  • I have a Master's in Gerontology from Virginia Commonweal...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


I want to experience new people and places as much as possible. When you sit together at a table and break bread in their home or yours, you learn a lot about someone and every time you visit a new place and meet new people, it changes a part of you permanently. I respond to everyone's request and as quickly as possible.

I am a happy single parent of an 19 year old son. I think I would couch surf if I made a million dollars a year because getting to know like-minded people is priceless.

I typically do not host anyone who is not a verified member (the green check) or has no references. Sorry!

I live about 15 minutes from the coast of the Atlantic Ocean about 7 hours south of New York City and 4 hours south of Washington, DC. We are a really easy-going family who loves to laugh! I live in a nice residential section of Virginia Beach in Hampton Roads/Tidewater area. This area has a lot to offer with big cities, mountains 3 1/2 hours away, beaches and everything in-between within hours.


I live my life with the basic tennant that most people are good at heart. We all want/need the same things and are more alike than different, no matter where you're from. I love the premise of couchsurfing that you create a better world, one couch at a time. People who love to travel are usually very friendly, nice, intelligent people who are tolerant of others. I think that's because they are not afraid to go out of their comfort zone. We are all definately connected.

I love to have fun! I am a nice normal person just wanting to see new places and meet interesting people. Can you ever have too many friends in this life?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have hosted many people and have had great experiences. I'm especially interested in home/apartment swapping.


My hosting experiences have been wonderful, lovely, awesome, every overused adjective you can think of!!! I have spoken to many others online for travel tips, which is just one more of the many, many reasons to join couch surfing.


Obviously, I love to travel. I love to read, see movies, listen to live music, hang out with friends and family, be outside, go to the beach, cook, and ride my motorcycle. I'm learning to play the violin. I will try anything fun, interesting, and moral once. The field of disabilities is my passion, especially issues regarding persons with an intellectual disability and aging.

  • cooking
  • motorcycles
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • live music
  • snorkeling
  • beaches
  • mountains
  • family
  • hanging out with friends

Music, Movies, and Books

I love independent films and documentaries. I love Barbara Kingsolver, Stephen King, any book that is character driven but am open to a lot of different books. I like all of John Krachaer's books, especially Into the Wild and Into Thin Air.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The most amazing things I've done have mostly been while traveling...hanging with cowboys under a Colorado night sky around a campfire, helping a friend run a 100 mile marathon, riding a bull (for two seconds), snorkeling in great places, completing the Landmark Forum, traveling through Thailand, and of course, having and raising my son.

Teach, Learn, Share

There is always something to learn from every person you meet!!!!! Everyone has their own unique story and I love to hear it ! If you get lucky, you teach them something too. I especially love sharing ideas and cultures with people from other countries. I love to show someone how to make a meal that they don't know how to make and I love learning how to make a meal from you. I also love helping people from other countries with their travel needs. If you need it and I have it to give, it's yours.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share with hosts whatever it is you might need and I have....whether it be time, good conversation, things, a meal, an English lesson, or knowledge about where I live.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bermuda, Dominican Republic, Ireland, Thailand, United States, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexia’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups