Alexis Yong's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexis’s full profile.

Overview

  • 8 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English, Hakka Chinese, Malay, Yue (Cantonese); learning Polish, Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2018
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey there! I'm Alexis from Malaysia. (Malaysian Chinese)

Back in 2019, thanks to Covid, I accidentally became a VR game developer in Poland. But now, I'm a project manager for a Polish company that builds exhibition stands all across Europe. This job lets me travel a lot, and I love using Couchsurfing to meet new people! It's been way better than staying in hostels or hotels so far! 😄

I haven't used Couchsurfing much until recently, so I haven't had many chances to meet female hosts or Couchsurfers. But I'm really excited to, so feel free to reach out to me!

Just a friendly heads-up: I'm not here for Tinder-like experiences. I genuinely want to make friends from different cultures because I absolutely love meeting all kinds of people. 😄

Because of my job, things can be pretty unpredictable. So, if we plan to hang out, expect a flexible and spontaneous meetup!

I’m not replying to only "hi Alexis/hello Alexis" in your messages. It'd be awesome if you could tell something more, like what are you up to, if you've read my profile and want to meet up.

Before I travel, I usually use this website called Workaway. It's all about making friends with locals and experiencing their daily life – my kind of adventure!

Here are some of my previous experiences living abroad:
🏫 I volunteered to teach basic English at an elementary school in Taiwan through Aiesec.
☕️ I had winter working holiday in Jackson Hole, Wyoming, in the United States.
🏝️ I also had winter working holiday in Hilton Waikoloa Village, Hawaii.
🕌 Then, I volunteered to help a local travel agency and eco lodge in a fascinating place called Brunei – living in the tropical jungle was something else!

All these incredible experiences inspired me to embrace the backpacking life.

🗺️ I volunteered to assist a community-based paddle company with their social media in Krabi, Thailand.
🇵🇱 Then, I spent two and a half years having crazy adventures in Poland, and after that, I took on the challenge of corporate life in IT for a year.
🌎 But now, my current job as an exhibition project manager and allows me to travel around Europe this year

Instagram: AlexisNomad_

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To get to know about the locals! What they normally do in daily life.

Interests

Im interested in almost anything that I’ve never heard of..

  • traveling
  • sports
  • business
  • ecotourism
  • movies & books

Music, Movies, and Books

All Time Favorite Books:
Steve Jobs Biography. Shoe Dog. Zen Mind, Beginner’s Mind. The Ancient Secret Of The Flower Of Life. Harry Potter.

All Time Favorite Movies:
Steve Jobs. Adam Patch. The Founder. The Theory Of Everything. The Notebook. About Time. The Boy Who Harnessed The Wind. Into The Wild.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Fixing my relationship with family from the kindness I’ve received from strangers during the travel 😊

Teach, Learn, Share

I can speak and write in Chinese (Simplified/Traditional), Malay, English, Cantonese & Hakka.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I’m bad at cooking, other than that, will figure out what can I offer ;)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Brunei Darussalam, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, North Korea, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brunei Darussalam, Poland, Taiwan, Thailand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Alexis’s full profile.