Alex  Umami's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex ’s full profile.

Overview

  • 189 references 170 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), Spanish; learning Indonesian, Portuguese
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Operations Manager
  • New York University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello! I am a digital nomad currently based in Brazil.
I love animals. I like hug them. Especially whale sharks and cats.
My favorite country I've visited is Bolivia, but I like Bangladesh, Myanmar, and Oman a lot, too.
Thailand and Mexico are my favorite places to live.

I have a travel blog:
https://globalsapien.com

For some quick reassurance that I am not a serial killer, check my Instagram: alex.umami

For convenience, here's my WhatsApp: +55 21 98900 4509

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Because I think too much when I'm alone.

Interests

reading minds, watching paint dry, cuddling with other people's dogs, pretending not to know anything, complaining about China, winning over my friends' parents, writing sincere couchsurfing requests

  • architecture
  • politics
  • history
  • religion
  • sustainability
  • urban planning
  • environmentalism
  • futurism
  • international politics

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: Sapiens, Homo Deus, The Economist

Music: Børns, Glass Animals, Foster the People, Tame Imapla, Cage the Elephant, Metronomy, The Knocks, Maribou State, Bloc Party, Eerie Wanda, Grimes, Alt-J

Movies: I do not watch movies because I have the attention span of a golden fish.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Some of the unique situations that have arisen during this trip have forced me to spend the night sleeping in a pizzeria, a bakery, a yacht, a yurt, a parking lot, a port, a cargo ship, a tin shed, a border post, and a brothel.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: I can teach you about marsupials.
Learn: I can learn to fly.
Share: We can share spouses.

What I Can Share with Hosts

What is mine is yours.

Maybe not my kidneys, though.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Chile, China, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Georgia, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Luxembourg, Macao, Macedonia, Malawi, Malaysia, Mexico, Montenegro, Myanmar, Namibia, Netherlands, Oman, Peru, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Romania, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste (East Timor), Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Portugal, Spain, Taiwan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex ’s full profile.

My Groups