Alix Stone's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 94% response rate
  • Last login about 17 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alix’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 29 References 27 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 46, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Lecturer
  • PhD
  • From Lisbon, Lisbon, Portugal
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I like to meet new people and learn about different cultures. I'm at a point of my life when I find the need to try different things and get to know different people. You cannot expect things to the different if you do the same over and over again. Last year was a real eye opener of new experiences and travelled using couchsurfing for the first time and met the most amazing people I would otherwise fail to consider as part of my life.
Mostly, I am the kind of extroverted introvert: while I appreciate my evenings with a book (or the laptop), I do love to chat and exchange points of view with people that have ideas to discuss, I like to show off this island I live in and learned to love.
Two things you should know about me: I drive fast and I have a twisted sense of humour.
Usually, I do not accept requests for more than two or three nights.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I welcome young and not so young people at my home. I can offer a comfortable double bed (and also a couch) in independent rooms, with doors you can shut. I can accommodate up to 3 CS even though I don't like to host many people at the same time. If your idea is simply to have a place to rest and leave next morning, please find a hotel or hostel, there are plenty of those in this city. I need to feel I can somehow relate to the person I host before I accept a request. Not that I am the kind of nosy person that will ask you personal questions that make you feel uncomfortable or poke around your stuff...
I also like to be able to travel and have accommodation abroad with similar minded people. I like to explore places on my own but also enjoy the chance of having knowledgeable people showing me the interesting spots of their homeplaces.

Interests

I like reading and gardening (although I only have a small balcony, I am into growing vegetables in pots), travelling and hiking .
I just bought a camera and I am planning to (re)study photography, one of my big passions.

Music, Movies, and Books

I have eclectic taste in music from classic to rock; I keep well away from rap, though...
I am a fan of Jazz and try not miss any concert nearby.
I read anything (even the back of the cornflakes pack). Robertson Davies is, by far, my favourite author, but I find very difficult to put up a list of 30 authors. as recently asked.
Bruce Chatwin is in that list for obvious reasons.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Climbing Paglia Orba (2500 m) in Corsica to see Capo Tafonatu during summer solstice with 45ºC in the evening and descending at midnight.
Going down at dawn and up again the Grand Canyon in the same day and sleeping in the car.
Overall, I am not an amazing kind of person, I'm afraid. Maybe my greatest adventure was to move to Madeira island, where I knew nobody and start a new life with a small kid in tow. More mountains to climb...

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to cook and bake, so if don't mind to experiment with new dishes, you can be my guinea pig. I can also do traditional dishes and introduce foreigners to the delights of "bacalhau" and other "funny" Portuguese delicacies. If you can teach me how to cook specialities from your own background, I'll be grateful, help yourself to my kitchen.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A glass of ginginha (my mother makes it) or red wine, some smooth jazz in the background and a good chat.
I get lots of requests to show people around and hang out in the evenings. Well, I am happy to do so at weekends but I work all week and it is difficult find the time during the day. So, if you ask to stay with me in weekdays, be sure you don't mind if I leave in the morning and come back after 9 pm.
That said, I'll be happy to make arrangements in my schedule, to the extent that everybody is OK.
I am more of a late owl than an early bird and can chat til the wee hours, if in the mood.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Netherlands, Panama, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Portugal, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Alix’s full profile. It’s free!