Alon Gaiduk's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alon’s full profile.

Overview

  • 19 references 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hebrew (modern), Russian, Uzbek; learning German
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Researcher
  • King's College London
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Researher, interested in philosophy, mental illness and counsiousness.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Travelling for me now has solely a purpose of meeting people and learn new ideas rather than visiting tourist destinations. Flying somewhere, booking a hotel, and going to museam is unimaginable to me. I'd rather hitchhike and couchsurf in the nearby town.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE
I couchsurfed for the first time in Turkey, then in Ukraine, Georgia, Azerbayjan, Kazakhstan, Scotland and England. The experience was always amazing.

I also try to meet people in my city and had great time with people from Argentina and France. Now since I have a space to host other travellers, I would like to return all the generousity and hospitality that people gave me.

Interests

I am interested in mental health in the modern political, economic and social context in different parts of the world. I used to work as a psychiatric nurse in asylum, since then I am trying to learn and understand better ways to organise mental health care in society.

I spent 1.5 years in London - this experience changed me significantly as I encountered with a completely different world to me after spending most of my life in a post-communist country. I enjoy writing, so I used to have a blog where I discussed all the cultural differences between the West and East - this remarkable division between the two still fascinates me.

Before I enjoyed the nightlife culture - live rock music, a couple of beers and a great vibe. I used to work as a bartender and was dreaming of my own cocktail bar in the future. Today, although I still can go to a bar, I'd rather prefer a quiet hike outdoors admiring the nature and fresh air. Perhaps I am getting older?

Other interests: philosophy, evolutionary psychology, counsciousness research, street and documentary photography, classic literature.

  • literature
  • backpacking
  • philosophy
  • spirituality
  • sufism
  • bartending
  • lindy hop
  • mental health
  • psychiatry
  • tolstoy
  • dostoevsky

Music, Movies, and Books

Great Russian Classics such as L. Tolstoy, Dostoevsky, Bulgakov, Lermontov, Pushkin, Solzhenitsyn, Chekhov - I can talk about them endlessly. I truly believe that books can heal a soul.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hitchhiking in the Caucasus for 1 month and making a photobook about the journey.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can talk about countries I've lived in - more specifically post-Soviet Uzbekistan, it's culture, politics and mindset of the people.

If you want I will be happy to converse about philosophy, meaning of life, our universe or your mental health.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can cook a delicious Uzbek plov for you - the piece of art of the regional cuisine.

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Czech Republic, England, France, Georgia, Greece, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Russian Federation, Scotland, Spain, Turkey, Ukraine

Countries I’ve Lived In

Czech Republic, England, Israel, Uzbekistan

Join Couchsurfing to see Alon’s full profile.

My Groups