Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 93% response rate
  • Last login about 15 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Katya’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 15 References 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Russian; learning German
  • 37, Other
  • Member since 2011
  • Katya: Community organizer and trainer (for drug preventi...
  • Katya: Gorno-Altaisk State University and University of I...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Enjoy life, family and friends and travel!

ABOUT ME

Katya: I grew up in Russia, and when I was 22, I moved to the USA. Now I am looking to move to New Zealand, hope it'll be possible some day. I love to travel and luckily, my job took me to a lot of places around the USA and Central Asia. Did lots of road tripping with my husband. I like seasons. My favorite treat is a good malt from the local ice cream shop. I like to live in a medium size town, but love traveling to large cities, small towns and rural areas.
We enjoy meeting people and learning about their culture and customs. We like good food.
Katya loves good tea and has a good collection of highest quality teas, so, if you surf with us, and like tea, we'll enjoy making some for you!

We do not smoke, and drink very little on occasion.
We like to spend time with some purpose, so, we don't have a TV set in our house, and have hobbies that keep us busy. I run a small home based business doing custom clothing design, tailoring and alterations, that's in a addition to my consulting business as a trainer in Central Asia for community-based drug prevention through community building.
Steve runs his small software company ( www.componica.com ), he is an Electrical Computer Engineer.
We have 3 young kids, two of whom a twins.
We would surf as a family during most trips.

PHILOSOPHY

Hope to leave mostly positive impact after myself, live sustainably.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We host and surf couches. Would like to do house swapping.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

wonderful experience meeting world travelers.

Interests

Travels, engineering, SCUBA diving, sewing, fashion/clothing design, music, cultures, languages, good food, trying new things, gardening, cats, environment, Rotary, good friends and sustainable living.

  • cats
  • culture
  • design
  • fashion
  • environment
  • dining
  • cooking
  • running
  • drinking
  • gardening
  • shopping
  • clothing
  • technology
  • tv
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • hiking
  • scuba diving
  • swimming
  • business
  • engineering
  • languages
  • public policy
  • software
  • road trips
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

I listen to many styles of music, some oldies, some classics, some contemporary. I enjoy Michael Jackson's music. Tend to not like rap and country music. Steve's music preferences are hard to describe, he listens to all kinds of music.
Movies...to many to list...we like romantic and action comedies, such as Amelie, Fight Club, The Barber of Siberia, Zombieland, Up in the Air, The Notebook, and many many more. Also, I like documentaries. Though, it's been a long time since we watched a movie.
Hardly ever read books any more. Enjoy a documentary type books, about the horrors of food processing in the USA, such as Fast Food Nation, and also Alton Brown's cook books. We also read encyclopedias and dictionaries.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Road trips as long as 3 weeks in different countries while enjoying each other's company. Swimming in a hole in the ice on a lake in Siberia and Wisconsin in winter. Hiking in the mountains of Altai in Russia.
Travelling in Asia and New Zealand.
Jumping off an underground waterfall in a glow-warm cave.
Hiking on a glacier.
Angkor Wat in Cambodia.
Having 3 kids through an IVF, what a miracle!
Biggest amazing thing is having twin children.

Teach, Learn, Share

Sewing is a very useful skill I have and I can share it with others. Starting and running a small home-based business. I also have 9 years of experience of public policy work and community organizing, which is basically working with people and building relationships with people.
Steve is an electrical computer engineer, and he also runs his own small hi-tech business, making software. He can share his shoestring business start up experience.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can mend some clothes or teach you a bit of sewing if you have a project and need someone to take a professional look at it.
I can cook Russian food.
Can share some tips for raising twins.

Countries I’ve Visited

Cambodia, France, Kyrgyzstan, New Zealand, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Russian Federation, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Katya’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups