Alyx Casarin's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alyx’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Sign Language - Italian
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Freelancer- Marketing & Events
  • No education listed
  • From Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

I'm an easy going person who appreciates the fun things in life as well as having a day in to read a book and relax. I've been privileged enough to travel in my earlier years since my father has lived abroad for the majority of my life, so I've been lucky enough to experience a fair amount of diverse cultures on my travels. I'm a huge animal lover, though I have the most experience with dogs (because dogs are amazing), I love any animal.

I have a MASSIVE fear of spiders, so know that if a giant four-legged "friend" comes to visit I'll be in the other room as far away from it as possible... My passion is music, and I am hoping to learn how to play guitar some time in the near future. Live music is the best way to experience the art, and while some genre's hit my taste, any good music is GOOD MUSIC.

I've been a Capetonian most of my life, and enjoy hiking in the Cape mountains on occassion (on a pretty beginner level), though I have recently taken up surfing which is one of my newest interests. I appreciate art and any form of creativity, I can enjoy a good party (although I'm not exactly a party animal), and I love great food.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I quite like the idea of being able to experience places from the perspective of a local rather than staying in a hotel and traveling like a tourist. Most of my greatest travel experiences have been when I have been able to experience them as a local.


  • animals
  • arts
  • culture
  • music festivals
  • music
  • live music
  • surfing
  • beaches
  • food
  • live concerts

Music, Movies, and Books

Music is one of my passions, so my taste varies quite broadly. While I can appreciate music from almost any genre, I can acknowledge that my tastes lie largely in rock music and span out to some of the subgenres of rock (notably psych rock and good old rock 'n' roll). Bands and performers that stand out for me are David Bowie (his late 60's to early 70's music), The National, Shakey Graves, Dope Lemon, Tash Sultana, Glass Animals and so many more. My favourite films are many, so my favourite directors would be Tarantino, Coen Brothers, Miyazaki (or really any Studio Ghibli film), Wes Anderson. Books- there are honestly too many. I enjoy reading different things, though I quite enjoy Murakami, Stephen King, Chuck Palahnuik, and The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I got to pet cheetahs that were not a tourist attraction (as in not held down by chains, the cheetahs were somewhat tame and I had a contact at a game reserve who let me in to meet them). Unforgettable and unlikely to ever happen again.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My silly experiences and insights. I'm a good listener and often the person to give objective advice for the people in my life. Otherwise I can maybe share some cool South African bands/music with my hosts if they are interested.

Countries I’ve Visited

Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Mauritius, South Korea, Switzerland, Thailand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Alyx’s full profile. It’s free!