Amen Ben Hamida's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amen’s full profile.


  • 77 references 58 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Arabic, English, French, Spanish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Medical Epidemiologist
  • MD, MPH
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello, my name is Amen (pronounced "em-EN") and I am a human, just like you.

World citizen. Born, raised and trained as a physician in Tunisia. Transitioned through San Diego for two years to do my Master in Public Health; then moved to Atlanta for a position with CDC where I am working in international public health emergencies.

Enjoy traveling (obviously), discovering new cultures, and knowing new people. Always down for a beer, live music shows, and outdoor activities.

Very curious and genuinely interested in people's stories.

I like the idea that I'am not static; and that any person that cross my way, any situation I live or discussion I have could change significantly my way of thinking and appreciating things.


Live and let live.


You are not obliged to write me a very personalized request proving that you read perfectly my profile, I know what is to travel and look for a couch in a hurry. A normal request is OK, but you should have a complete detailed profile, I ll select according to that.

Please note that I have a very active lifestyle. I do a full time job, and usually engage in several personal activities during the week.
I generally like to interact with my guests, and to share some experiences with them, but you need to understand that some times, I ll just be be too busy or too tired to do it. => you have to be capable of being independent.
I also understand that some times, you may be too tired, and just wanting to relax/sleep. That's fine for me as well.

A couple of extra thing..
- I don t have any problem with alcohol (I was asked this question several times just because I am from Tunisia and people speculate on that..)

- Any gender, religion, race, sexual orientation, national origin, or other, is welcome to my place as long as you are tolerant, and are capable of handling constructively a discussion with someone who may have a different perspective than yours.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I host travelers at my place, share a piece of my life, show the city and the places that I like when possible.
I attend meetings and social events.
I surf people's couches when I travel.


I knew about Couch Surfing via a friend more than 10 years ago. I first hosted a lot in Tunisia and enjoyed my place looking like an international hostel. Then I used the system for traveling. I surfed in Spain and Amsterdam first, then during my trip to South eastern Asia.
Since then, it just became a style of life.


Friends and human connections.

Cinema, theater, music, travels, outdoor activities, camping, hiking, and rock climbing.

Politics, social justice, global health, and human rights.

  • culture
  • theater
  • dancing
  • human rights
  • cooking
  • politics
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • camping
  • snorkeling
  • rock climbing
  • medicine
  • social justice

Music, Movies, and Books

Every kind! other than gangsta rap maybe.
Jazz, blues, rock, symphonic, classical, Irish and balkans sounds, reggae, arabic, Latin, sub-Saharan african, Electro of different kinds.. Discovering and exchanging music is one of my favorite activities.

Noam Shomsky, George Orwell, Gibran Khalil Gibran.
Sex at down, Bad Pharma, Sapiens, Homo Deus.

Butterfly effect, Requiem for a dream, Harold and Maude, Headon, Le fabuleux destin d Amelie Poulain, Amores perros, The devil's advocate, Tambien la lluvia, Laurance anyways, Fight club, Short bus, and many many many others.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Some of them:
- Hiking Batur mountain in bali at 4AM and arriving to the top just in time to see the sun rise!
- Seeing a shark when snorkeling in Ko Tao.
- Bungee jumping in Los Angeles national forest
- Road trip from San Diego to Seattle for one month and a half.
- Sky diving.

and the list is still growing..

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you some Tunisian dishes, to start juggling (I learned it from one of my guests who I initially accepted for 3 nights and he ended up staying for 3 months) and to practice some foreign languages (Arabic, French).

I am learning Spanish.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my reflections of the moment, some Tunisian dishes, my normal life, my travelling experience, and hopefully much more.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, China, Colombia, Congo, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guinea, India, Indonesia, Jordan, Kenya, Malaysia, Mexico, Montenegro, Netherlands, Pakistan, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Senegal, Serbia, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, United States, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Portugal, Tunisia, United States

Old School Badges

  • 13 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Amen’s full profile.

My Groups