Amit Evron's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amit’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 282 References 179 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hebrew (modern), Portuguese, Spanish; learning German
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Freelance translator (Spanish and Portuguese to English)
  • Bachelors Degree in Computer Engineering
  • From New York, NY, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Born and raised in NYC. In 2009 I quit my job at a bank in New York and started traveling. Told people back home that I'll be gone for about a year but I'm still going strong 8 years later!

Backpacked in South America for a year, then started dating my girlfriend, Juliana, and we have since lived in Brazil, Germany, Vietnam and New Zealand. Our next stop is Australia in the middle of 2017 where we hope to spend a year.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Back when I lived in NYC my roommates and I hosted people almost every night. Altogether I've hosted almost 200 people and met several hundreds more through CS. I've also couchsurfed myself throughout my travels. It has always been a good way for me to meet like-minded people from around the world.

Haven't been using the site as much recently but still check in every once in a while.

Interests

Computer nerd ever since I got my first TI-83
Chess
People watching
I can stare at maps for hours
Learning a new language

  • beer
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • yoga
  • drinking
  • chess
  • traveling
  • guitar
  • backpacking
  • cartography
  • languages
  • physics
  • religion

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: A Clockwork Orange, Amelie, American History X, Amores Perros, Annie Hall, Babel, City of God, Crash, Deconstructing Harry, Do the Right Thing, Ferris Bueller's Day Off, Fight Club, Memento, Motorcycle Diaries, Office Space, Pulp Fiction, The Quest for the Holy Grail, Requiem for a Dream, Run Lola Run, Usual Suspects

Books: I read mostly science fiction and non-fiction books about history or historical figures. My favorite author is Kurt Vonnegut.

Music: I basically only listen to The Doors.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Quit my job to travel and live around the world for the past 8 years. It has been a blast (and I've only been arrested once)!

Most recently I spent a year working and traveling in New Zealand with my girlfriend, spending much of the time living out of our van which was an awesome experience.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Egypt, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kenya, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Tanzania, Thailand, United Kingdom, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Germany, New Zealand, United States, Viet Nam

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    105 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Amit’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups