Logo orange

Amos and Ruth Bouskila

Sede Boker, Southern district, Israel

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amos and Ruth's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 34 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Hebrew (modern); learning Arabic, French, Italian, Spanish
  • 60, Other
  • Member since 2010
  • Amos - Professor of Behavioral Ecolo...
  • Still learning something new every day
  • From Amos - Kibutz Be'erot Ytzhak, Israel; Ruth - Rhodesia
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Look beyond the differences and find a way to walk the path together.

ABOUT ME

Amos: I love the outdoors and tend to spend quite a bit of time there, during work and for pleasure. I conduct research and lecture (at Ben-Gurion Univ.) on ecology of desert animals (mainly reptiles, mammals and their predators). Recently I have added the topic of horse behavior to my research (combining my hobby with my work, by studying the behavioral ecology of wild horses).

Ruth: I enjoy creating useful and decorative utensils with clay, using the potters wheel, as well as by handbuilding. Lately I opened a studio / gallery in conjunction with a friend, where we can give expression to the desert environment surrounding our homes. (See website). An integral part of my life includes the practice of Yoga, Tai-chi and Chi-kong. I work part-time as an Occupational Therapist assisting children with learning disabilities

PHILOSOPHY

Amos: Travelling or living in the desert is very different from anything else in the country, and I'd love to help you experience it.

Ruth: Looking forward to more travels, meeting and learning from / giving to and teaching others where I can,with those skills this life has acquired so far.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosting, surfing and recommending CS to our friends.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We host, have been hosted and met wonderful CS people. Most recently, during recent trip to the Netherlands, Iceland and Spain, we had great experiences with many CouchSurfers within a short period. In addition, we were members of Hospitality Club since 2005, and have had great experiences both as hosts and as guests (same username as here: amosb).

Interests

Amos: Lot's of horseback riding (we own two horses), "natural" horsemanship, horse behavior, hiking, Nature photography, wildlife and nature conservation (worked for 13 years as a field guide in the Negev Desert and in Kenya), woodworking.

Ruth is a craft-person, creating pottery (see web page mentioned above for the type of works I do), and also interested in weaving, silk-screening and macrame; along with Tai-Chi, Yoga etc. I also love to hike in nature, and growing beautiful succulents and cacti for the planters which I create in the studio.

Music, Movies & Books

Ruth: Enjoy films portraying the "days of old", along with films showing human relationships,and those based on actual life experiences.
Music - from Medieval and Renaissance to Baroque and Classical, alongside folk music, particularly celtic.....

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Amos: I can think of many places I visited and many things I did that amazed me then and still do, and it is difficult to select a single one. However, knowing myself as a well adapted desert creature, the most unbelievable thing that I did was probably agreeing to enter a large ice-hole in a frozen lake in Finland and winter-swim in it a couple of times; and the feeling right after that is instantly and truly amazing (thanks Satu!). In addition, the recent (July 2013) expedition to Mongolia was also amazing (wild equids observations, cultural experiences and horseriding in the 8 lakes area).

Teach, Learn, Share

We live in a "solar house" (passively cooling in the desert summer and warming in winter), we recycle grey water, produce compost and have a pesticide free garden. (We also have wild ibex mowing our lawn, but that's their own initiative...). If you're interested in any of these, you are welcome to visit our desert community - all these things are quite common in our neighborhood.
Ruth - happy to give of the insights I have gained in the various things I enjoy doing.

Countries I've Visited

Algeria, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Jordan, Kenya, Mexico, Mongolia, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, San Marino, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Canada, Israel, Italy, Netherlands, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Amos and Ruth's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile