Logo orange

Andrea Tremols

East Flat Rock, NC, USA

Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrea's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 33 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French, Spanish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Loving Laughing Dancing Moving
  • College, wonderful and talented frie...
  • From Carolina grown and raised.
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Love. Learn. Travel. Live.

ABOUT ME

I love bikes and I love adventures. I helped start a bicycle co-op in Charleston and Spent a summer bike touring in Europe! Yay velos!

I enjoy gardening and helped run a school program for the Montessori pre-school I taught at.

I'm also very much anti-capitalism and anti-patriarchy. The DIY culture is very important to me as is a ecologically friendly life style. I'm also a master reiki practitioner and hope to do my teacher training in the next year or so.

PHILOSOPHY

Finding the sunshine in a scoop of ice cream.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I want to meet new people on a local level where I can get a realistic feeling of what the community is like and what is really going on in the cities I visit. It is a vital part of experiencing and connecting with a place because what I have discovered through my travels is it is the people who make the world that which it truly is.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

A friend of mine opened her apartment and couch to this site and i met so many great people! I want to be able to do the same.

Interests

Bikes! House shows, recycled art, picnics, hiking, flying kites, sailing, meeting new people, learning new languages, ink stamps, cooking dinner with friends, sunday potluck brunches, photography, Critical Mass (it's such a blast!), DIY culture, baking bread, mate on the beach, yoga, feminist theory, bellydance (any type of dance!), Reiki, holistic forms of healing, organic gardening, composting, building greenhouses, yurts and alternative building

Music, Movies & Books

I love to dance! Salsa, merengue, tango, hip-hop, or just acting like a fool with my friends so music is really important to my life! A few artists I can't seem to get enough of right now are: Junip, Sister Nancy, Old Crow Medicine Show, The Royal Tin Foil , The Blow, Buena Vista Social Club, Beny More, Gotan Project, Velvet Undergroun, Macaco, Mano Negra, Parliament, Os Mutantes, OICHO KABU, Meagan Jean and the KFB, Smallpox, and so on and so forth....

I don't watch many movies but I love foreign films. My favorites include Y Tu Mama Tambien, Volver, Amelie, Un Chien Andalou, Noi, Kabuki Girls, Belle Epoque, and many others. I enjoy indie films and strange, abstract creations such as the movie Alice. Surrealist film is really interesting to me...

I love to read when I have the right book. Lately I've been obsessed with Sappho and Anne Carson's translations as well as her novel Autobiography of Red. I also can't get enough of Rumi, Kahlil Gibran, and Hakim. I enjoy reading about holistic healing, herbalism and other natural remedies of healing. Feminist literature, such as the books Cunt and The Vagina Monologues, are also a huge part of my personal education.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I marched with the Madres de la Plaza de Mayo in the streets of Buenos Aires to express resistance to oppressive governments and support those in the world who fight against them.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you Spanish, knitting and how to bellydance. I would love to learn more languages and how to play the sitar. I will also give you be glad to share reiki with anyone who is interested.

What I Can Share With Hosts

Adventures, stories, a well cooked meal and lots of laughs!

Countries I've Visited

Bahamas, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Dominican Republic, France, Ireland, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, Uruguay

Countries I've Lived In

Argentina, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrea's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile