Ana Almar

Granada, Andalucía, Spain

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ana’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Chinese, German
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Phd in Spanish Literature student; Assistant Instructor
  • Languages (Translation and Interpreting)
  • From Albacete, Castile-La Mancha, Spain
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Traveling, traveling, traveling. I'm working in the States and I want to discover as much as I can about this AMAZING country!


I am a very happy person, I love to talk to new people because I think you can always learn from somebody. I am very friendly, open-minded and laid back, even though I might be a little bit shy when you first meet me (which will be quickly solved as soon as we have a couple of beers). I think I have a very good sense of humor, and I love laughing. To me, life is the most amazing trip I will ever make, so I try to live my life the best I can. I have studied languages, because I think they are the only way to make humankind work, through understanding each other. I started traveling when I was pretty young, and once I started I wasn't able to stop; hopefully never will!

visited 17 states (7.55%)Create your own visited map of The World or website vertaling duits?

visited 14 states (28%)Create your own visited map of The United States or website vertaling duits?


"Be the change you want to see in the world" Gandhi

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


The day will come when I stay in a place for a while, and then I will definitely welcome you to my couch! :) But get in touch with me if you need a guide or someone to hang out with!


The first time I couchsurfed it was a great experience. My friend and I went to Austin, and our host showed us the city, hang out with us all weekend and even invited us to his party with all his friends! :)

- New Orleans (3 nights): and one of the best house parties of my life!
- Bern (2 nights): Reitschule + terrace with great host and roomates!
- Campival (Switzerland): tried a new modality: tentsurfing, a really good experience.

I have also been pretty active in the CS Groups of Geneva, San Francisco and looking forward to meet CSers in Austin!

-Nashville: three days with our amazing host Damian, his great friends, lots of country music and fried chicken!


I love reading, learning and traveling. I particularly enjoy doing all of them at the same time if possible. Then, I guess what I like the most is going out and random nights. I also love telling stories, making fun of everyday things and playing sports, especially tennis!

Music, Movies, and Books

Just to name a few of them:
Movies: Amelie, Garden State, Once, Across the Universe, Tarantino's, I like musicals in general and movies about social issues.
Books: A FINE BALANCE (it's a must!), Rayuela, Blindness, Tales from Firozsha Baag, Nieve, Momo, La Historia Interminable, One Hundred Years of Solitude, Such a Long Journey, Family Matters, Strangers in Paradise, The Wishing Game...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- The silence of the Grand Canyon and the desert of New Mexico and Arizona.
- Nature, in every way.
- Teaching one of my students how to read and write. No words can describe how it feels, and how rewarding it is.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am a Spanish teacher, so I can teach you all the Spanish words you want!
And I make a great hummus!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Russian Federation, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Ana’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups