and_the_road_shone's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 84% response rate
  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see and_the_road_shone’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 105 References 52 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Thai
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • Teacher
  • i learned even more from being on the road then from univ...
  • From wherever my toothbrush is
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

****I won't be able to host anyone from 26-28 May as I'm going away on those days****

Hi, I'm Malina (some of my references call my by my Thai name Malee or other nicknames)
I've just moved to Chiang Rai Thailand and my home is open for hosting!
I'm sharing a simple house in a semi-rural Thai neighbourhood with one other teacher. I'll be working full time, but I can go out with you sometimes and point you in the direction of things.
The house is outside of the city centre but shops, a market and nature are near.

CURRENT MISSION

To enjoy bright and beautiful Thailand!

ABOUT ME

I'm an explorer, a questioner, writer and artist. I love meeting new people, discovering new places, and trying new things.

I am following my inspirations, living my dreams, and celebrating the moment.

PHILOSOPHY

We project the best parts of ourselves out into the universe and everything in our experience reflects these back to us.

Each positive thought resonates through the jeweled net of consciousness.

Every day contains moments that have the capacity to uplift and inspire.

We all make an impact. Make a positive one. Leave your mark. Get out there and do something!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

sharing teaching learning doing making connecting partying hosting surfing volunteering

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Some of the best highlights have been being hosted by Bedouins in a cave in Petra, in a cozy white cottage on an island in Greece, in a lazy frontier town off the beaten track in Trojes, Honduras, and filling the flat with surfers in The Red Octopus, Berlin.

visited 54 states (24%)Create your own visited map of The World or website vertaling duits?

Interests

meditation, hiking, dance improvisation, guerrilla gardening, recyclable art, sustainable development, languages, island hopping, blowing bubbles, vegetarian living, seeing things from alternate angles, opening doorways, becoming a better person, expanding my mind.

  • arts
  • writing
  • dancing
  • vegetarian
  • meditation
  • partying
  • gardening
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • track and field
  • languages
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

reggae, classical music, algerian rai, balkan beats, dubstep, drum n bass, psytrance, electro, techno, trance, trip hop, chinese flute music and indian ragas.
Kosterica films like black cat white cat
Gypsy movies like Ko To Samo Peva (hilarious!)
artists: guy debord, basquiat, and banksy.
Literary and historical fiction, classics.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Chanting aums with village children at the Art for Kids program, Auroville.

Scorching the soles of my feet as I climbed the holy mountain at Tiruvanamalai.

Battling my way through a haze of feathers side by side with a contingent of couchsurfers at International Pillowfight Day, Perth.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to make a wallet out of a juice carton, a hair-wrap, or a bracelet out of string.
explore, connect, and volunteer. www.kindmankind.net

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bulgaria, Canada, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Fiji, Germany, Guatemala, Honduras, Iceland, Jordan, Laos, Malaysia, Mexico, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Germany, India, Indonesia, South Korea, Thailand

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    15 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see and_the_road_shone’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups