Anna L.

Ushuaia, Tierra del Fuego Province, Argentina

Wants to Meet Up

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 22 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Anna’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, Italian, Piedmontese, Spanish; learning French, Japanese, Occitan
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Lost in translation
  • mala
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm in Patagonia again, until May 2016 :) I'm being hosted myself so I can't host, but we can hang out!

Estaré en Ushuaia hasta mayo 2016. Me estoy alojando en casa de amigos, así que no puedo hospedar, pero podemos armar salidas! :)


Balancing on the edge - Try to keep my mind still and move my body!


[ITA qui sotto]
I want to live away from the cities, some months in Italy and some months on the other side of the planet. This is how my life should be. And this is how it is at the moment. :)
Teleportation would make me happy.
I've called home a small village in the Italian Alps, a city in Japan that was almost destroyed by an earthquake, a town on the southwestern coast of Australia and a small city at the very end of South America. I live pushed and pulled by two opposite forces: the constant desire of knowing new places and the deep affection I feel for the "old" places and the people I left there that drags me back again.
Ever since 2006 I've been living like a spring, stretching out to reach far away places, and springing back to recharge my batteries and dig into my own roots.
My trips opened my eyes to beauty. I saw so many wonderful places, and the more wonderful places I saw abroad, the more I found in my own backyard. The more amazing people I met far away, the more I discovered among my neighbors.
I learned the impossibility of making comparisons.
By coincidence I happen to have an "extreme" approach to continents: for some reason I tend to start from their "furthermost" point (from Italy, of course :) ). When I first set foot on Asia I went to Japan. I started my trip through South America from its southernmost point. And now that time for Africa has come... South Africa will be my first stop! :)
This said... I'm in love with Patagonia. I feel something in my stomach anytime someone names it and looking at it on the map makes my head spin. I think it's a serious disease. I'm not sure I want to cure it, though.

Voglio vivere lontano dalle città, 6 mesi in Italia e 6 mesi all'estero. La mia vita dovrebbe essere così. E al momento lo è! :)
Vorrei avere il dono del teletrasporto.
Ho chiamato "casa" un paesino nelle Alpi, una città in Giappone che è quasi stata spazzata via da un terremoto, un paese nel sud-ovest dell'Australia e una cittadina nella punta più meridionale del Sudamerica. Vivo spinta da 2 forze opposte: il desiderio costante che mi spinge a conoscere posti nuovi e l'affetto profondo che nutro per i luoghi in cui sono stata e per le persone che vi ho lasciato, che mi spinge a tornare sui miei passi. Dal 2006 la mia vita è come una molla: si distende per conoscere posti nuovi e poi rimbalza indietro per fare il pieno di energia e scavare nelle proprie radici.
I miei viaggi mi hanno aperto gli occhi alla bellezza: ho visto tanti posti splendidi, e più ne vedevo quando ero via, più ne trovavo vicino a casa. Più persone straordinarie conoscevo, più ne scoprivo tra i miei vicini.
Ho imparato l'impossibilità di fare paragoni.
Amo la Patagonia. Sento una stretta al cuore e allo stomaco quando qualcuno ne parla e guardarla sulla cartina mi fa girare la testa. Credo che sia una malattia grave. Ma non so se mi va di curarla :)


"Le chiacchiere stanno a 0", words are worth 0. Don't say, DO!
Perfection is perfectly boring.
Always accept candies from a stranger. Accetta sempre caramelle da uno sconosciuto.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Meetings, hosting, surfing, exchanging information and even organizing some hikes! :p


I've met some great people through Couchsurfing. My life wouldn't have been the same without them!From surfing (inside and outside the official system) in 5 continents to hosting to meetings, I'm thankful to all the people that opened a small window on their world and allowed me to peek through it and to take part into their lives.


Languages and cultures, people, traveling, trekking, wwoofing, writing, books, nature, food!, listening to (interesting) people taaaalking. Sleeping under the stars. Waking up with frost on my tent in a pristine morning. Dreaming.
Be happy with less: less is more!
Working on teleportation.

Music, Movies, and Books

2 books I'm in love with:
Catch-22 (Joseph Heller) - I just love this book! A masterpiece of irony and satire that makes you break into bitter laughs at every page.
Rayuela (Julio Cortázar)!!! - A book that shows all the contrasts of our human souls, all the friction between the individual and society, and makes us hear the unbearable noise of conventions that made our senses blunt.

Voyage au bout de la nuit (L. F. Céline): so bitter, but so lucid and real. Amazing insight into the human nature.
Steppenwolf (H. Hesse): very enlightening and came at the right time, as all good books :) Is anyone struggling with multiple personalities?
Salman Rushdie (Midnight children).
1984 and dystopic novels in general.
Looking for some hints... :)

Movies: I'd love to watch more movies, especially Japanese and Spanish-Latin American ones, but it's hard for me to find the right moment. Help me! :)
I remember liking Big Fish, The eternal sunshine of the spotless mind, Boyhood (seen it recently), The Machinist, Alice in Wonderland (the old Dysney animated movie), ...
I don't have a TV.

Music: not a big music listener, but an open minded one. Give me some music, explain me something about it and I'll like it! Possibly love it =)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Only one?
My mistakes!!

Teach, Learn, Share

I want to learn everything =) Theoretical and practical. I have no manual skills and I admire people who do.
LEARN: It'd be great if you could teach me Portuguese (Brazilian). Or Occitan, because I suck at it :) And some yoga, mountain/backpacking tips, sewing, DIY.
It takes time for those things, but you're welcome to stay as long as you want if you can teach me something. :)

I've tried to play melodeon (diatonic button accordion), but traveling made it very hard. It would be interesting to pick it up again in case someone plays it. Or bandoneón, anyone? :)

I don't think I can teach, but I can share everything I know: languages, travel/backpacking tips, a good Piedmontese recipe for my favorite dessert...all very indispensable things in life as you can see!
I've also taken a Thai massage course (in Thailand) for a month. I need to practice but I have some knowledge of it :)
And I can share a good chat about human beings :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

A bed, a storage room for bikes or stuff, some mate (bitter Argentinian herb infusion - love it or hate it! :) ), tips + maps for hiking around here, maybe a ride to some trailheads if they're not too far/I have time, books in Italian, English, Spanish, Japanese (+1 in French, sorry Frenchies!), a washing machine, a good story, a warm shower, peace and quietness, a smile! :)

What I CAN'T offer:
iron for clothes, hairdryer, TV.

For the rest just ASK! :)

Un letto, una stanza in cui mettere le bici o altro, del mate (una specie di tè argentino amaro: o si odia o si ama!), consigli e mappe per camminare qui intorno, a volte uno strappo fino all'inizio dei sentieri (se non sono troppo lontani e ho tempo), libri in italiano, inglese, spagnolo, giapponese (+1 in francese), una lavatrice, una bella storia, una doccia calda, pace, tranquillità, un sorriso! :)

Cosa NON offro:
ferro da stiro, asciugacapelli, TV.
Per il resto CHIEDETE! :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Bolivia, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Ecuador, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Jordan, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Australia, Italy, Japan, New Zealand

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    7 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Anna’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups