Logo orange

Andrew Green

Darwen, United Kingdom

Wants to Meet Up

90% response rate · Last login about 8 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 55 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Architect
  • Undergraduate, Masters and Professio...
  • From Manchester, England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm Andrew, an architect from Manchester in the United Kingdom. I've recently finished my postgraduate studies in Architecture after 10 years and am about to embark on abit of an adventure. Officially moving to Vancouver, British Columbia in May 2015 from which I plan to explore the Pacific North West for a couple of months and attend Burning Man festival in Nevada before finding work and a place to stay.

I'm extremely passionate about architecture and over the course of the past 10 years it really has become my life, the past couple of years have been incredible and I've been able to work as an architect in London, New York, Los Angeles, Singapore, Sydney and in Melbourne I set up a local chapter of the international charity Architecture for Humanity. [http://www.linkedin.com/in/andrewkgreen]

I devote a lot of energy into remaining productive and in a constant state of personal growth. I am actively working towards establishing my own interdisciplinary design company and am often running multiple creative projects at any one time. [https://www.behance.net/andrewkgreen]

I'm inspired by diverse locations, nature, culture and people and aspire to live and work in as many of the worlds greatest cities as possible during my life.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

Love meeting new positive people from different backgrounds and cultures. When I moved to Melbourne in 2013 I met the majority of my new friends from over 20 different countries through CS. I hosted every now and again, regularly attended meetups in the city and really felt part of the community. I contribute by organising events and often conduct tours (predominantly graffiti or architecture related).

Have until now found it a struggle to host, whether it being that I’m constantly on the move, or mainly that I house share with individuals, unable to understand the concept of ‘having random people in the house’… I hoping to find a house share with other couchsurfers or a least a house that is open to me hosting every now and again.

I was introduced to couchsurfing by a colleague in late 2012, now I'm hooked! In 2012-2014 I surfed my way across the USA, Canada, Australia, South East Asia and Europe and met some incredible people on the way, just about to embark on my second North American trip with lots of opportunities to meet new surfers!

When I left my small town in the UK with plans to independently adventure and see the world, I felt so alone with my aspiration, but meeting so many CS'rs all over the world made me realise there are thousands of people like me, that don't stand for the norm, travel, open their minds and expect more from life.

It might sound soppy, but CS has mildly revolutionised my life! It has significantly transformed my outlook on life, enabling me to become completely open, free of judgement, accepting of all people and added to the altruistic and optimistic facets of my character. This revised attitude has subsequently brought so many wonderful, authentic, people and so much joy and positivity into my life. Enabling me to grow, love and become genuinely happy.

USA; New York (Brooklyn, Manhattan). Detroit, Chicago, LA (Hollywood, Downtown, Silverlake & Venice) Canada; Montreal, Toronto. Australia; Melbourne, Perth, Tasmania, Sydney. Asia; Singapore, Malaysia (KL, Penang), Laos (Vientiene), Thailand (Bangkok, Chang Mai), China (Hong Kong). Europe; Austria (Vienna) Denmark (Copenhagen) ,England (Manchester, London), France (Lyon, Paris), Germany (Berlin), Hungary (Budapest), Scotland (Edinburgh), Switzerland (Zurich, Basel, Lausanne, St Gallen).

Interests

Art, design, architecture, photography, sport and travelling are at the core of all my interests, although I have a massive appetite and am a pretty decent chef.

Im an chartered architect but consider myself a multidisciplinary designer, I try to devote time to my art practice and have recently sold works on 4 continents via the Saatchi gallery in London. [http://www.saatchionline.com/andrewkgreen]

I have quite severe dyslexia, am extremely visual and have a tendency to read peoples facial expressions more than what they say. I also have quite generous sprinklings of ADHD, so please don't be surprised if I voice my inner monologue, or offended if I get distracted by the most banal, irrelevant things..

I'm big into food, health and wellbeing. Personally, I follow a relatively strict paleo (caveman) diet, meaning I restrict consumption of processed or preserved foods, wheat, dairy or sugar, (which is in most foods!)... I eat fresh seasonal organic fruit and veg, free range meat and eggs, nuts, seeds and some grains [https://instagram.com/urbanpaleo]. So please don't be offended if I don't eat your cake!) I do however love my craft beer (especially porter) and its one of my ambitions to start a microbrewery!

During summer I am pretty active, but tend to hibernate during winter months.. I like trying new things like slacklining, bouldering, bikram and ultimate frisbee. Although my favourite sport is running, and if the climates good and theres a park nearby your place, you'll find me running it!

Music, Movies & Books

Fight Club, Training Day, Napoleon Dynamite, Anchorman, Aliens, Spotless Mind, Pulp Fiction, Drive, Airplane!, Spaceballs, Back to the Future, This is England / The Office, Alan Partridge, David Attenborough, The Mighty Boosh, Peep Show, Summer Heights High, Curb your Enthusiasm / LCD Soundsystem, Alt-J, Jose Gonzalez, the XX, Foals, Ben Howard, Portishead, Alpines, SBTRKT, Caribou, TEED, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, MGMT, Pantha Du Prince, Ludovico Einaudi / The Secret, Diving Bell and Butterfly, Trainspotting, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, S,M,L,XL.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

visited 22 states (9.77%)Create your own visited map of The World or Free ipad travel guide

visited 8 states (16%)Create your own visited map of The United States or Like this? try: Google Battle

visited 4 states (1.77%)Create your own visited map of The World or Brazil travel guide for Android

Teach, Learn, Share

Think I could share a thing or two about, multidisciplinary design, architecture, gastronomy and entrepreneurship. I am totally open and enthusiastic to share anecdotal experiences of international travel and encourage cultural exchange. I am fascinated to hear about peoples unique lives and am happy to discuss what its like to grow up in Great Britain and what I have experienced living and working in Australasia and North America.

Street art, graphic design and typography have always and remain to have abstract influence on my lifestyle and work. I have an ongoing stencil graffiti project which references (and sometimes adapts) quotations from music, film and literature. I’m happy to take you on an alternative tour of the local graffiti sites in each respective city and maybe we can even cut and (covertly) spray a stencil or make a unique T-shirt print from a manhole cover in an urban context of your choice!

Although it’s generally connected to the architectural charity I’m involved with, I spend a lot of time volunteering at a community workshop project in Brixton. If your free on a Thursday evening or Saturday afternoon, your welcome to join me upcycle innovative furniture from recycled waste!

What I Can Share With Hosts

There are not many things in this life more important to me than food and I love to cook for my hosts. Ive been cooking since I was around 10 years old (because my parents couldn't!), I've taken a few specialised courses, acquired knowledge and built up skills from meeting new international friends over the past few years. I'm experienced in paleo, vegetarian and raw cooking, as well as; English, German, French, Hungarian, Greek, Mexican, Japanese, Indian, Korean, Thai, Malay and Laosian cuisines. [https://instagram.com/urbanpaleo]

Countries I've Visited

Armenia, Austria, Cambodia, Canada, China, Croatia, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Netherlands, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Austria, Canada, Japan, Netherlands, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrew's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile