Angie Braam's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Angie’s full profile.

Overview

  • 131 references 96 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, German; learning Arabic (North Levantine), French, Spanish, Turkish
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Spreading positivity
  • International Development studies
  • From Emmen, Drenthe, Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

After roaming around the world for years, travelling for the sake of travelling stopped being a goal for me. The goal of checking bucket lists full of beautiful places became somehow repetitive, however encountering new people never stops exciting me. There´s something to be learned or enjoyed with any kind spirit, and I´m sure this website will keep arranging such encounters.

Apart from that, travelling turned me from a sceptical nihilist teen into a smiling and cuddly giant spending all my time on the learning the magic of languages, expressing myself through musical instruments, studying the Middle East and somehow hoping to find out how to contribute on making this beautiful world a slightly better place for everyone 0:)

Below here you might consider my profile outdated, which doesn´t necessarily make it untrue :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I love the couchsurfing community. The way of meeting nice people from all over the world is really inspiring and just awesome. I have a wide interest in foreign cultures, languages, cuisines etc. I've been surfing myself in China and since september 2013 I've been hosting in Amsterdam. My couch is open to anyone who is into meeting other people as well, I don't just participate to give people a free place to stay but I just really like to meet a lot of people and just have a great time together.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I used to have a long list over here of all persons I have surfed the place of and everyone I've hosted. After two years of hostig and travelling this list got too long to post here. I have surfed about 50 couches, I surfed extensively in china, turkey and iran and I have some couchsurfing experiences in many european countries. I always had an amazing time being someone's guest, and the same goes for hosting.

In 2013 and 2014 I lived in Amsterdam and I hosted about 60 people from Ireland, Germany, The Phillipines, Czech, China, Pakistan, Hong Kong, Iceland, Sweden, Serbia, Israel, Finland, Mexico, Australia, Poland, Argentina, Austria, Russia, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Chile, Belarus, Malaysia, USA, France and Turkey. All of them were a pleasure to meet and I've had a great time with. I hope to get a place to host again soon!

Interests

My most important interest is of course travelling, I've been travelling for a year and it's been the best year of my life so far. Next to travelling there's music, I'm listening or practicing music almost every moment of the day, I play guitar myself and there's a wide range of instruments I play a bit. I am an animal lover as well, I'm strict vegetarian and I fall in love with any kind of cute animal, sadly I am not allowed to have any animals myself in the student flat.

Music, Movies, and Books

I've got a wide range of musical interests, my favourite music might be Radiohead, Neil young and The Smiths. But my taste is much wider than that, I love folk music from all kinds of places, including eastern European, klezmer, Middle-eastern, west african etc. etc. As long as people put passion into their instruments, beautiful things get created.

I try to read a lot, I don't read as much as I would like to but maybe once a month or two I get the chance to read one. I like them dark, existentialist and depressing, especially as the classic Russians manage to do. But apart from dark fiction there´s travelling stories, works of journalism and all kinds of things that manage to grab my interests.

I'm not really a movie watcher but I can enjoy a movie once in a while.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- Hitchhiking from the Netherlands to Iran and back.
- Shaving the hairy back of my Iranian friend.
- Convincing my parents to become vegetarians.

Teach, Learn, Share

The country I live in is called the Netherlands, don't call it Holland please. North-Holland and South-Holland are provinces in the Netherlands, that's not where I'm from. Cheers :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am absolutely up to anything, i like to do whatever the host is doing. I would be a good listener for everything that is known and especially unknown to me. And i've got a lot of travelling stories to share myself. Apart from this:

I can cook you a spicy (or less spicy on request) vegetarian meal.
I can clean your room.
I can be your pet.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, England, Ethiopia, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kosovo, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Palestine, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sudan, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Netherlands, Palestine, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Angie’s full profile.

My Groups