Logo orange

ANIKITA

Anderlecht, Brussels, Belgium

Maybe Accepting Guests

75% response rate · Last login about 13 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see ANIKITA's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 140 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning Dutch, German
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • just finished training to become a t...
  • life
  • From Brussels, Belgium
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Just want to go a little bit further to see what's on the other side of the horizon...

ABOUT ME

I'm really nice! :-p

Always fun to have a travel buddy: I like active holidays, I get bored if I just stay on a beach all day. I prefer the mountains to the beach, but enjoy variety. I prefer travelling in a small group (2 or 3). I don't like discos and wild parties, but I like to have interesting chats and having fun in a less "party" way. I like enthusiastic people who are always in a good mood and not complicated, up for everything, active, but always respectful. I like getting to know the locals and their culture, am not into hanging out in an isolated group partying just between tourists... I love walking, and discovering, so I enjoy curious people. I like talking, smiling, laughing and dreaming. Am interested in discovering the cities and cultural aspects, getting to know the people and their country, and I love nature. (Oh and I'm not looking for a dating buddy, thank you...)

PHILOSOPHY

Smile and the world smiles with you :-)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Since I signed up in 2007 I have been to quite a few CS events in Belgium (I also organised one in Brussels) and Spain, and have met up with couchsurfers in Brussels and Valencia to show them the city and/or go for a drink. I only started hosting recently as before that I never had a flat I was responsible for but I tried to make up for it by meeting couchsurfers whenever I could. And now after so much time of surfing I can finally host! :-)
In addition, I have also managed to get quite a few new people addicted to CS! ;-)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've couchsurfed quite a bit now, in Belgium, Spain, Thailand, Australia, New Zealand, French Polynesia and the USA (Hawaii and Alaska). I have also been to quite a few events and met up with many CSers.
I have really enjoyed my various CS experiences, have had great times with my hosts, other travellers and locals and I just love the Couchsurfing spirit! :-)
Couchsurfing is what decided me to go on a long journey on my own, because when I used it on previous occasions I loved every second of it!
I used CS quite a lot during my year around the world and intend on continuing to do so as much as possible, great for meeting people and discovering the country!
Am really looking forward to discovering the hosting side of CS now!

Interests

I like travelling, meeting new people, practicing my Spanish, music (playing, singing or listening (all types except techno and very hard rock...)), dancing (want to learn more salsa, just know the basic steps; also want to learn tango and rock'n'roll! However am not into discos...), reading, writing, walking, nature (moutains, forest, lakes,...), board games, cinema, theatre, listening to stories, going out with friends, eating, laughing, smiling, daydreaming, playing with children, making people happy.

Music, Movies & Books

I like all different kinds of films. I like Amelie Poulain (and love the music, especially to play on the piano :-) ), Shrek, Diarios de motocicleta, Into the wild, The Constant Gardener, Mr Nobody (Belgian director!), and well open to most films except maybe ones where they just go around killing people for no particular reason...

Love music, open to many different kinds. I like rock, pop, classical music, folk, world music, French songs, celtic, latino + Spanish songs, soundtracks, relaxing music, etc etc...

Also love reading, and also open to many kinds! :-) I like "L'éducation d'une fée" (Didier Van Cauwelaert, Belgian writer!), "Jonathan Livingstone Seagull" (Richard Bach), "Brave New World" (Aldous Huxley), "Et si c'était vrai..." (Marc Levy), ...

I like discovering new types of films, music and books so please do not hesitate to share your favourites and/or traditional ones from your country with me! :-)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

A man in the metro in Brussels asking for money (without asking directly) who in exchange for my orange gave me his smile and a poem that he had written. He made my day. :-)

Got lost in Canada following a nonexistent track and found myself face-to-face with rapids, clapping and yelling "Mr Bear we are there please don't eat us" so as not to scare a potential bear in the area (found him later in a less treacherous situation).

Slept with about 20 GIGANTIC spiders on the hut ceiling in Cameroon, counting them each time I turned off and switched on the torch light again, and realising there wasn't the same number anymore (where were the missing ones??!), but luckily locals reassured me saying they are not dangerous as if they sting/bite (not sure what they did) you, you don't die... (great...)

Woke up the whole house in Nicaragua making everyone scream because of my own uncontrolled screaming when I thought I had trodden on a snake during the night and in the end it happened to be... their pet parrot.

Sliding down Mount Toubkal (just the highest peak in North Africa...) with my fingers digging into the snow to try and stop, in the middle of the night... with no torch light... (Yes, I know, not intelligent...)

Travelled around the world for a year (Thailand, Singapore, Australia, New Zealand, Cook Islands, French Polynesia, Hawaii and Alaska) and it definitely was amazing! :-)

Teach, Learn, Share

Can teach: French/English/basic Spanish, basic piano / guitar , basic salsa/ celtic dances, which are the best Belgian chocolates!

Would like to learn: more elaborate Spanish (love practicing it!), more elaborate salsa, how to dance rock'n'roll properly (I just improvise for the moment!), how to play as many instruments as possible, rock-climbing, swimming, all about other people's countries and languages,... Well actually I love learning so I will be grateful for anything you can teach me! :-)

Would like to share: good moments with anyone interested! :-)

What I Can Share With Hosts

I am not too good at cooking but if that doesn't scare you I can give it a try! :-)

Would also love to share nice conversations and moments together, hikes, board games, music sessions,...

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Cameroon, Canada, Cayman Islands, Cook Islands, Cuba, Czech Republic, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Belgium, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see ANIKITA's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile