Anna Persson's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 12 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Anna’s full profile.

Overview

  • 60 references 41 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Swedish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Freelance creative - wearer of many hats!
  • Learning as I go, baby!
  • From Perth, Western Australia, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi, I'm Anna!

Originally from Western Australia, I have been living in Wellington, New Zealand for the last three and a half years - until May 2023, when I left to go travelling after too many years! I was dogsitting, road tripping, camping, and visiting friends in the United States from May - August.

I've been in Edinburgh (where I used to live) for the month of August with my partner, Calum, who is traveling for the first time from New Zealand! We're going to be spending September traveling!

Between 2013 and 2019, I was a fairly nomadic bean - living on and off in Edinburgh (2.5 years) and Wellington as well as traveling, hitchhiking, and couchsurfing my way around North America, Europe, and Asia!

I'm an arts practitioner and wearer of several many hats! I'm a writer, tutor, facilitator, manager, teacher, improviser, producer, actress, musician, DJ, poet, photographer, and artist (and probably a few more things I'm forgetting lol). I am super passionate about the arts, people, and creativity!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I want a free place to stay and to steal all your food...just kidding. Unless...

I've been on couchsurfing for almost 10 years! 10 years! When I first started, I was 20 years old and backpacking around Europe. Doing the classic Australian "10 month-long backpacking trip". I was struggling with deeply connecting with people in hostels and discovered couchsurfing. Cue: my life completely changing from that point out!

Couchsurfing has taught me SO much. About trusting people, hospitality, respect, friendship, and authenticity. I've honestly met some truly lovely lifelong pals from couchsurfing and am so grateful I started couchsurfing in my early 20s!

Interests

I love a lot of things and am a pretty busy person with all of my interests and hobbies!

I journal and write daily and teach creative writing classes. I love and hate writing.

I love being outside. I love hiking, camping, and spending time in nature. I am kept sane via walks in the forest and swims in the pool or ocean. I'm really getting into going to the sauna.

I love music! I'm currently learning guitar, banjo and drums! I played ukulele for many years but guitar is my latest love.

I'm a low-key foodie. I love cooking, especially elaborate meals, when I have the time. I've been vegan since 2013 and can swing my way around a kitchen! One of my favourite things is having wine and a yarn with a pal/s whilst cooking a meal!

  • writing
  • poetry
  • photography
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • sauna
  • reading
  • podcasts
  • music
  • live music
  • hiking
  • camping
  • swimming
  • hitchhiking
  • travel
  • art
  • films
  • nature
  • theatre
  • learning
  • improv
  • comedy
  • the ocean
  • veganism
  • walks
  • banter
  • intersectional feminism
  • shit talk
  • drinkingtea
  • learning guitar and banjo

Music, Movies, and Books

A handful of MUSICIANS I listen to on a semi-regular basis are: Animal Collective, Sylvan Esso, The National, Big Thief, Sufjan Stevens, Khruangbin, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, AJJ, The Mountain Goats, Björk, Broken Social Scene, POGO, Alt J, Belle and Sebastian, Bonobo, Sigur Rós, Tame Impala, Father John Misty, Fleet Foxes, Amen Dunes, Haley Heynderickx, Talking Heads, Grateful Dead, Beach House, Explosions in the Sky, Why? The Tallest Man on Earth, Modest Mouse, Frightened Rabbit, Neutral Milk Hotel, Hop Along, Jens Lekman, IDLES, Duster, and SALES.

MOVIES - I'm definitely more arthouse and indie inclined, but I love a good romcom on a burnout kinda day. I go pretty hard during the film festival (last year's record was 17 films). I can't pick a favourite film but I do enjoy my David Lynch, Richard Linklater and Wes Anderson.

BOOKS - I love to read and am aiming for 32 books this year. You can check out my Goodreads, in general, I love a good fiction book but also get down for anything that makes me learn something new - https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/42342205-anna

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hitchhiked 30,000km around the world and then wrote, produced and performed a play about the experience!

Teach, Learn, Share

I'll teach and share what I have and you teach and share what you have.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A not-too-shabby vegan meal, some quality yarns, and hopefully good company! :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, India, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, New Zealand, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • 3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Anna’s full profile.

My Groups