Anna Bastida's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 18 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Anna’s full profile.

Overview

  • 26 references 20 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Swedish; learning Spanish
  • 56, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Artist
  • Bachelor's degree in Art Education
  • From Mercer Island, WA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

Im currently living in Puerto Colombia and have my art studio and "Rascals Mini Ranch" in Prattville, Alabama. Latest venture is making Conceptual Art Costume Photo Portraits. ....of YOU! I love traveling and meeting foreign peoples. I spent many winters in India. I studied vedic philosophy, classical singing, and stayed with yogis in revered pilgramage places. My pets at "Rascals Mini Ranch", Alabama are a Bengal Cat, Sacred Cow and Bull from South India. I play tennis, ocean sports, and various dance.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosting currently in Puerto Colombia. One block from the ocean. Conceptual art.

I like to host foreign couch surfers. I want to learn about your country and your perspective on USA and the world. I can show you around the historical part of Prattville, a local History Museum, and Art center. We can take a walk along the creek or play tennis. If I have time I can take you to historic Fort Toulouse or Montgomery which is famous for civil rights and confederate history. It's nice to rent Kayaks and go down the Autauga creek..sometimes I take guests to historic Selma, AL.

I want to travel to many countries and experience real culture of each area rather than tourism in hotels.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've had a positive experience hosting traveling couch surfers. I am seeking to exhange with real travelers, not those traveling for work and only wanting a free place to sleep.

Interests

Surfing, Tennis, Permaculture, anthropology,
Modern and traditional Dance, Art, architecture, Philosophy, indigenous culture and ceremony, Historical Costume, alternate home building, wild foraging foods, making music, singing, watching dance videos.

  • arts
  • literature
  • singing
  • architecture
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • environment
  • dining
  • cooking
  • vegetarian
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • traveling
  • pottery
  • outdoor activities
  • sailing
  • tennis
  • ecology
  • forestry
  • ocean
  • organic gardening
  • foreign languages
  • foreign cultures
  • foraging
  • swimming in the sea
  • ecologbuildi

Music, Movies, and Books

I like watching Youtube dance videos, fashion, discussions of current events, tennis, travel documentaries, science, history....all kinds of interests on Youtube.

I like foreign films with deeper meaningful plots and beautiful scenery.

Books that impacted me the most were
Upton Sinclaire's "The Jungle",
Thoreau's "Walden Pond",
Viktor Frankle's "Man's search for meaning", "Sophie's Choice", and
"Bhagavad Gita".

World music like Bossa Nova, Latin dance music, Afro Cuban, Hindustani, Broadway vocalists, relax and chill instrumental.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I attended a famous festival in India where over one million people participate in singing, dancing, drums, cymbols. These kind of festivals are quite amazing.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach Art, English, Tennis, Meditation, Vedic fire ceremony, Ceramics, Indian vegetarian cooking, eating wild edible plants and mushrooms. I want to learn about your country and culture. It is possible to stay longer and participate in my permaculture eco living project in Alabama.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Most of the above.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Colombia, Denmark, France, India, Italy, Jamaica, Mexico, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, India, Sweden, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Anna’s full profile.

My Groups