Annick Haentjens's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Annick’s full profile.

Overview

  • 16 references 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 40, Other
  • Member since 2011
  • No occupation listed
  • Social worker (Annick) - doctor in Marine Biology (Maarte...
  • From Ghent, Flanders, Belgium
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Showing people that Gent is at least as beautifull as Brugge... ! ;-) And couchsurf our way to as much worldheritage as we can :-)

ABOUT ME

We are a young family, who are simply addicted to travel & openminded to meet new people. Got enthousiastic about this whole idea through a good friend & penpal of ours, Shira :-)
You can also check out our travelwebsite (http://www.ourworldheritage.be) for more info!

PHILOSOPHY

Life is worth as much as you rate it (An Pierlé).
The world is like a book - those who do not travel, read only one page.

WHAT CAN WE OFFER?

We can offer you a bed in our spare room (double sofabed). In general we can accept two guests, there might be room for families traveling with children - contact us to see what we can work out.
We live in a very rural area, so you don't have to come to our place to go out to parties :-) We are also a young family, which means you have to respect a bit of silence upstairs after Febes bedtime (usually around 19.30 PM).
We can provide loads of tips on the area and biggest cities in Belgium and might join you if we have the time. We do work fulltime, which means in a workweek we have to leave the house at 6.40. We have pets in the house (two cats and a dog) so you have to be good with them as well.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Mainly by hosting, and we'll probably surf around Europe (and maybe beyond?) as well while travelling. Depends on what type of trip we take ;-)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

2012

Surfing
- with Constantijn (Monnickendam - Netherlands)

Hosting
- Janny Chan (Shangaï - China)
- Lucile, Bart & Laureline (Paris - France)
- Laura and Muriël (Virginia - USA)
- Lisa and Matt (Colorado - USA)

2013

Hosting
- Nic & J (UK / Thailand)

Surfing
- Monique & Rene (Luzern, Switserland)
- Mirco Grandi (Modena)
- Ernesto Murro (Cagliari)
- Leonardo Bosseli (Firenze)

Interests

Travelling, cooking, reading, gardening, relaxing, ...

  • pets
  • cats
  • dogs
  • books
  • beauty
  • cooking
  • beer
  • working out
  • partying
  • gardening
  • reading
  • traveling
  • camping
  • surfing
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books

Rather addicted to reading: it helps me cope with my busy life & with the problems I deal with at work (I'm a social worker, working fulltime as a student counselor). A book is the perfect way to relax & drift away from the day to day stress :-) If you like, you can find me at goodreads.com as well!
Music is another passion - especially concerts. Everything rock / alternative is good, and now and then I go a little heavier (my husband is a big metal-fan).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have seen so many amazing things on my travels, it's hard to pick just one!
My loveliest moments were camping throughout Finland, discovering the Carribean beauty Guadeloupe & my trip to Israel with Shira; although I really enjoyed all my travels. Must say that Senegal & Egypt left a big impression on me as well, and citywise I feel right at home in Paris & Amsterdam :-)

Teach, Learn, Share

Probably got a thing or two to share when it comes to cooking, one of my biggest passions in life other than travelling :-) If you've got the time, I could learn you to make a typical Belgian stew, the perfect Belgian fries or "Gentse Waterzooi".
We've also got a thing or two to share about Belgian beers... and are ofcourse happy to taste some together with you.
And for those of you interested in history: I've got quite a lot to share about the history of Gent :-)

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Annick’s full profile.

My Groups