Michael Gorham's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 8 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.

Overview

  • 31 references 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Italian, Spanish; learning Portuguese
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Carpenter
  • University education in philosophy, english and linguistics.
  • From New York, NY, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

born and raised in Manchester (UK), English Father and Italian mother, have a younger sister I am very close to, always played in bands, used to promote music nights, lived in Australia, I worked in special needs schools,

got into environmental activism, hitch hiked around mexico for a year, wrote for an ecological magazine, taught English, lived in Sicily in a migrant support centre, was an English teacher in highschool, did some writing and now I'm a carpenter.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To meet like minded people!

Interests

People, music and staying healthy.

Learning, Singing, PLaying the bass, playing the guitar, playing frisbee, playing badminton, playing computer games, Politics, Music, Development, Education, Sustainability, Climate Change, Philosophy, Languages, Linguistics, Making, Helping, Teaching.

Exploring. Camping. Fishing. Walking. Gardening. Hammocking.

  • singing
  • education
  • yoga
  • walking
  • gardening
  • politics
  • music
  • guitar
  • fishing
  • camping
  • badminton
  • teaching
  • geography
  • history
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies - I don't watch as many as I would like.

Music is a massive part of my life. Listening, dancing, playing, touring, promoting, teaching. Especially funk, hip hop, rock and roll, folk, punk, reggae, ska, motown, 60s pop... and everything else.

Books - I love reading. As a child I loved to disappear and lose myself in fantastic worlds.
Some of my favourite books and authors: On the Road, 1984, Illusions, Catch 22, Down and Out in Paris and London, Witgensteins Investigations, Trainspotting, 100 Year of Solitude.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Released hundreds of baby sea turtles into the ocean on the Michoacan coast in Mexico.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have been a teacher of; English(as a foreign language and also in a English secondary school), music and children with disabilities.

I would like to learn a lot of things... mainly languages, how to build a house, grow vegetables, sailing, history and geography.

Share? A friend taught me to share everything. It's difficult but I try...

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Australia, Brazil, France, Germany, Guatemala, Italy, Japan, Malta, Mexico, Morocco, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Italy, Mexico, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • 5 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile.

My Groups