A.R. Mark's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login 11 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see A.R.’s full profile.

Overview

  • 37 references 30 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Japanese
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Robot Salesman
  • BSc Physics
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I was born and raised in Canterbury, I traveled around Europe and Asia. Now I'm building robots and automated industrial systems. I love going to the farming countryside, and walking in the hills while listening to audiobooks.

I'm enthusiastic about startup companies and their role as powerful engines for creating the new technology to improve life for everyone.

I have a tidy house for you to stay in. I'm working during the day, and have lot of interesting projects on during time off. If you're happy to help out with housework for a few hours per day (maybe you can cook, or clean, do gardening, or go shopping, or build shelves?) would be happy to have you as a guest.

I don't drink, don't smoke, don't do any drugs. Still, I am very open minded, love going to new places, trying strange activities, hearing from people who think differently. Especially for new ideas for businesses.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I used to host local events for CS in Dunedin NZ, like meetup at a bar evening, or stargazing nights. I like to meet people to go exploring, camping and adventuring with. Rockclimbing, Hiking, Surfing, anything; the more unique the better.

I've stayed on couches in France, been on camping trips around the top of the North Island of NZ with CSers, my previous flat hosted a lot of couch surfers. I met locals in Japan while traveling around the country and sleeping in a van.

I'm looking to meet new people, and get some help tidying and decorating the house you will be staying in, I don't have a lot of free time, you'll have to make beds yourself. If requesting the room please answer: which daily task do you like to help your hosts with? cooking, cleaning, laundry, shopping, or decorating

Interests

Trail running out in nature
Fencing (the one with swords)
Engineering: getting technology working
Videography; I love capturing real moments, making art, would like to make a music video.
Sailing.
Mountain climbing.

  • books
  • exercise
  • running
  • walking
  • technology
  • board games
  • chess
  • reading
  • music
  • hiking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • trail running
  • fencing
  • engineering
  • project management

Music, Movies, and Books

Music; Bon Iver, Future Islands, M83, Slow Club, Sun Airway.

Books: Elon Musk biography, Dawkins, Nietzsche, science fiction. FACTFULNESS

Movies: The Social Network, Hot Shots, The Man from Earth.

TV: Alone (camping reality TV), the Simpsons. The Apprentice.

Games: StarCraft. Chrono trigger. Factorio.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

My self and 6 friends climbed Mt Tarinaki in winter. Spiky crampons on our feet, walking up steep ice slopes with iceaxe in hand, up to 2000m in the vast cold mountain landscape, we arrived to an ice-covered hut perched on the side of the mountain. There, we stayed the night. Six human bodies and candles raised the inside temperature to a warm 3degrees, and we played music from our phones and danced to stay warm, pulled cake and custard from our backpacks, and enjoyed the greatest party at top of edge of the world.

Teach, Learn, Share

Kaizen, 5S, Lean Manufacturing.

Computers,
Cryptocurreny, English

Countries I’ve Visited

France, Germany, Japan, Scotland, Switzerland, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Japan

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see A.R.’s full profile.

My Groups