Arne's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Accepting Guests

  • 88% response rate
  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Arne’s full profile.

Overview

  • 262 references 207 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning Bulgarian, French
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Freelance translator
  • Accountancy - ICT
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm an easy going guy who is easily seduced by the beauty of something new. After moving to Bulgaria (planned for 6 months), I lost my heart to the picturesque town of Veliko Tarnovo, where I'm currently living for over 10 years. I like to have fun, but also like my peace every once in a while, which is why I can't accept every request sent to me (summers are crazy in this town). I like cooking, but I'm still an amateur, and it doesn't happen that often. You won't easily find me in a disco, but much rather in front of a stage.

In September 2019 I moved with my beautiful Indian wife to our new house, about 12 km from Veliko Tarnovo. The place has regular public transport to and from VT during the day, and the house offers so much more than what I could offer in my apartment in the past (including table tennis, and a bigger kitchen for more and better food from all over the world).

Karishma's profile: https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/karishma_singh

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

It all started with my father who convinced me to make a profile. Soon I made spaghetti for 4 Canadians in his place. Since I was living in a small town in Belgium, I didn't get any requests myself until it was too late. I moved to Bulgaria where I stayed at a few different places, before starting my own share of hosting. Since then I've been hosting hundreds of people from all over the world in Veliko Tarnovo, and every once in a while I make my own trips to discover our planet.

Interests

Good movies, good music (not a chalga-fan), a good book, a good concert, a good party, a good beer, a good meal, good company, a good talk, ...

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Not the typical special-effects-movies from hollywood, but movies with a good story from all over the world.
Music: Many kinds of music (but no chalga). Classic rock, Jazz, Blues, Classical, Electro Swing, ... usually depends on the moment and the mood...
Books: I like mixing some fantasy with biographies, a little fiction with non fiction, ...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Make people smile.
Move to Bulgaria.
Start my own company.
Marry the most beautiful girl in the world.
Buy a house.
...

Teach, Learn, Share

If you don't like your current environment, step out of it and go crazy!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I like sharing stories, but you will have to ask, because I'm not always the most talkative person. Usually alcohol helps as well :-) I love it when guests do dishes in my place (although now we have a dishwasher), but also see it as my responsibility to show the same kindness to my hosts. Besides that you can ask for my help with anything in exchange for a place to sleep.

Feel free to check out the following FB page "Couchsurfing Veliko Tarnovo":
https://www.facebook.com/Couchsurfing-Veliko-Turnovo-482208521825359/?fref=ts
or the following FB group, where you can find and post things to do in and around VT:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/1026644927388745/?fref=ts
or our local Whatsapp group where you can ask for advice or organize meetings (but I can't share the link, or we get lots of spam. Feel free to ask, and we'll add you to the group)
On the next page you can find information about the free walking tour (tip-based):
https://www.facebook.com/freevtwalk/?fref=ts

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Italy, Jordan, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Bulgaria

Old School Badges

  • 15 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Arne’s full profile.

My Groups