Amos Sarrouy's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amos’s full profile.

Overview

  • 65 references 49 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning Portuguese, Vietnamese
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • English Teacher / Writer
  • Undergraduate Degree in Philosophy and English
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To discover new and interesting parts of the world, to connect with people, and to grow as a person.

ABOUT ME

I'm a polite Canadian, just like the stereotype, and I'm pretty tidy. I don't smoke, and I don't drink very often. I've been described as relaxed and upbeat, and I like to think that's true. I've been living in Vietnam since June of 2019, and I'm not too demanding when it comes to guests. Sometimes it's nice to talk or hang out, and sometimes it's nice to do our own things. Just don't leave messes for others to clean and replace what you eat. My job keeps me absurdly busy, but I'll do what I can to give you a good base to explore Hanoi.

I'm really into swing dancing and rock climbing, though I haven't had any time for rock climbing. If you're interested I can definitely take you swing dancing.

PHILOSOPHY

The world is big, and we only get to experience so much of it before we bite the dust. What is there to do except try to see as much as we can?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Couchsurfing is the best. Trusting a stranger is one of the most rewarding experiences you can have.

Interests

Swing Dancing, Blues Dancing, Rock Climbing, Philosophy, Math (yes really), Singing, Pool, Cooking, Go (the board game), Writing Short Stories, Swimming, Weightlifting or Bodyweight Training, Taichi, Video Games, Books, Movies and so on.

  • arts
  • books
  • dancing
  • swing dancing
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • yoga
  • movies
  • video games
  • traveling
  • billiards
  • socializing
  • music
  • blues
  • surfing
  • sailing
  • rock climbing
  • languages
  • tourism
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

OK, here goes, in no particular order.

Music:
The Beatles, Bob Dylan, Flogging Molly, Gorillaz, Jacque Brel, The Kinks, Jimi Hendrix, John Coltrane, Johnny Cash, The Killers, King Crimson, Manu Chau, OK Go, Pink Floyd, The Protomen, Radiohead, Stan Rogers, The Bloodhound Gang, MF Doom, Mussorgsky, Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Charlie Parker, Gypsophilia,

Movies:
Alien, Aliens, The Avengers, Being There, Bugsy Malone, Cabin in the Woods, Children of Men, Clue, Crank, Full Metal Jacket, The Life Aquatic, Dr. Horrible's Sing-Along Blog, Monty Python and the Holy Grail, The Magnificent Seven, Seven Samurai, Night of the Living Dead, Pulp Fiction, The Producers, The Shining, Sunshine, There Will Be Blood, Trainspotting, The Triplets of Belleville

Books:
Anything by Jorge Luis Borges, anything by George Orwell, Dune, Ender's Game, Frankenstein, Heart of Darkness, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Invisible Man (by Ralph Ellison), Lord of the Flies, The Lord of the Rings, Notes from Underground, The Plague, Peter Pan, Shake Hands with the Devil, The Discworld series by Terry Pratchett, The Three Musketeers, War Of The Worlds, Catch-22, the short stories of Isaac Asimov, etcetera...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I climbed to the peak of Mt. Huayna Potosi (6080m). It was the first mountain I'd ever climbed and I did it without acclimatizing because I occasionally take on foolish challenges.

I also figured out how to solve a rubiks cube without looking up solutions. It may be my proudest accomplishment.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can definitely teach English, since that's what people are always paying me for. I could also teach the basics of the great art of Taichi, or the almost as great art of pool. If you want to learn Blues dancing or Swing dancing I would also love to share.

Things I want to learn: to speak Vietnamese (working on it), more French and Spanish, more yoga, more rock climbing, sailing, surfing, an instrument, the tango, and a lot more, but how's that for a start?

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Dominica, Ecuador, France, Guadeloupe, Ireland, Italy, Martinique, Paraguay, Spain, Suriname, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Guyana, Viet Nam

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    4 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Amos’s full profile.