Logo orange

Asher's Groups

Asher Floyd

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Asher's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 44 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English; learning Dutch, French, Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • TV production, photography, advertis...
  • I studied TV production
  • From Canberra, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm very tall, highly social, keen to meet people and learn constantly. I'm a photographer and also work in video production and teaching.

I talk a lot, and my conversations get beyond benalities fast. I LOVE to cook and inviting friends over for dinner is a regular habit. I spend money recklessly at food markets.

Sunshine, and drinking outside on sunny days makes me happy. Riding a bicycle, yoga or playing a sport (seriously, I like having a go at almost any sport, even the stupid ones) make me happy. Talking about culture, history, philosophy, physics, linguistics, people's passions or anything new makes stay until the very end. I adore traveling, doing it my own way, and not feeling like a sheep when abroad.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've hosted in the past (though can't at the moment)

I've attended CS events all over the world, some that leap to mind are Empanada making in Buenos Aires, live music in La Paz, a trip to the amazing Andre Carne de Res restaurant outside of Bogota, squat parties in Amsterdam and beach parties in Valencia.

I've now surfed in Bogota, San Francisco, Antwerp and Atlanta.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I love cooking, so would always cook for my hosts! Actually, you don't need to host for me to cook - I basically cook for everyone.

Hosting people has given me a huge rush - I'm proud of the places I've lived, and I love to be 'the host'.

Interests

Photography, art and projects, conversation, learning (Spanish especially), cooking, meeting people, live music, riding bikes, cricket (playing and watching), traveling, being active, running up stairs, eating Indian food, watching films, staying up late, playing with lights, dinner parties, warm weather, drinking on sunny days...

Music, Movies & Books

Music: Nick Cave, Tom Waits, David Bowie, Pink Floyd, the Mountain Goats, Massive Attack, Bjork, Andrew Bird, Muse, Tricky, Cake, Magnetic Fields, the Pixies.

Books: Moomintroll books (Mumintroll in Swedish or Muumi in Finnish), 100 Years of Solitude, Rendezvous with Rama, For Whom the Bell Tolls, The Sun Also Rises, Lord of the Rings, Vile Bodies, Alice in Wonderland, Short History of Nearly Everything, God is Not Great

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I've sailed for four days down the Amazon river swinging in a hammock on the deck...

I've cycled the length of the Colca Canyon (pretty much the deepest canyon in the world).

I burnt my leg on a volcano in Guatemala...

I was lost overnight in the Namadji National Park, in Australia, when I was 14.

I traveled to the Swedish island of Gotland in a small sail boat.

I learned that a firestorm had hit my home town while I was in a a hotel in Venice.

I swam with a whale shark off the coast of Mexico.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach English, how to cook lots of things, how to play cricket, how to watch cricket, how to use photoshop, or edit video. I can talk about cameras and lenses and light all night.

Apparently I know a lot of random facts, that I apparently share.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Bolivia, Cambodia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, France, Germany, Guatemala, Iceland, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Peru, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Asher's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile