Ashley Butt's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ashley’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 9 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • English Teacher
  • Bachelor of Business
  • From Newfoundland, Canada
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

I grew up on an island in eastern Canada, loving the outdoors for everything it offers, but with an insatiable need to explore. After working in finance for seven years, I have decided to live out an old "Someday" and go to teach English in other countries.

Who knows where I will end up, but I am loving the journey!!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Not just a place to stay, but also an awesome way to meet locals when in a new place. I love backpackers (who doesn't love their own kind?!), but feel meeting locals is the best way to really get to know a culture.

Interests

Travel (obviously), reading, writing, outdoor activities of most kind, meeting new friends, and learning whatever I can about the world around me!

  • culture
  • writing
  • cooking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • surfing
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Love Actually(sigh), Disney's The Jungle Book, Disney's Peter Pan, and Mama Mia (I do love a good musical!).

Music: Michael Jackson (gosh, I really love him the most), HURTS, David Francey, and One Direction (you read that correctly).

Books: All of them?? Seriously though, I would have to say my favourite book is The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. I am praying that one day I open a War-drobe in a Spare-oom to find Narnia.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I would say two of my favourite things have been the volunteering trips to Tanzania and Namibia. Seeing people who have so little, have so much joy really encourages me.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I like to think I am a good house guest! (You can ask my brother, I am surfing on his couch until I leave the country!) I like to cook and will always clean up after myself. If you are letting me stay with you, then I treat your place like I would my own.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Costa Rica, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Namibia, Netherlands, Puerto Rico, Switzerland, Tanzania, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Colombia, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Ashley’s full profile. It’s free!