Avery Stahl's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Avery’s full profile.

Overview

  • 71 references 61 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Energy sales
  • Texas A&M, University of Denver
  • From Plano, TX, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Howdy there!

I'm pleased to announce my house is open for fully vaccinated travelers! This past year has been strange and scary for most of us, and I'm excited to begin meeting new people again!

Before I agree to host you, I will ask to have a phone conversation. I use this to feel each other out, see if we would get along and give each other an opportunity to ask questions and begin to get to know each other.

I have lived in Colorado for 4 years and am slowly getting into the outdoor culture. I love the beautiful state that I live in, and also love my home state Texas, where my family is still located.

My philosophy when it comes to new people has me listening and asking questions about their perspectives, past experiences, and interests. I believe everyone has a story to tell and can teach you something.

I love good walks, great conversations, a good board game and great stories. I am honest and eager to learn new things.

If you read my profile and like what you read, please include the phrase "Hullabaloo Buckaroo" somewhere in your request if you'd like me to seriously consider hosting you.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Why does anybody do anything?

Now on a more serious note, I started hosting Couchsurfers when I moved into a communal house in Goleta, CA in the summer of 2015. This time marked the beginning of several new changes in my life, and being exposed to strangers from different countries regularly was one of those changes that stuck with me.

The opportunity to create a new connection and meaningful relationship with someone who lives across the world and share my belongings with other human beings is why Couchsurfing has my heart, and why I will host Couchsurfers as long as I have the space to do so.

Interests

I for the first time noticed this section is titled, "More about my interests".

Well, what else do you want to know? I am currently pursuing my undergraduate degree in Mathematics, with the intention of becoming a teacher in a charter school here in Denver.

Other than my professional aspirations, listening, creating and performing music is quite important to me. I am an intentional person when it comes to my health - so cooking at home, and exercise are also important to me. On the note of exercise, I love racquetball, long-distance running, weight lifting, biking and ultimate frisbee.

Pre-pandemic I was a bartender full-time. These days I'm taking a break from drinking, mostly for philosophical reasons, not health-related ones. I am still quite interested in bartending and cocktail making, and will happily treat my guests to some homemade cocktails, even though I won't partake myself. 😊

I was raised to be a devout evangelical Christian, and my family is still this way. However, after moving to California and leaving the echo chamber that is a conservative college in a conservative state, I discovered I identify with left-leaning political ideas and values much more than I had known previously. This led to me plunging myself headfirst into philosophy, debates with Atheists and Christian apologists, and eventually to reading "God is Not Great" and "The God Delusion" by Christopher Hitchens and Richard Dawkins respectively. I am no longer religious, (and for awhile considered writing a book explaining my logic for leaving the faith) and I am quite happy to talk about this.

  • podcasts
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • philosophy
  • psychology
  • religion
  • weight lifting
  • craft beers
  • long-distance running
  • quality conversation
  • craft cocktails
  • craft spirits
  • listening & discovering new music
  • writing & performing music

Music, Movies, and Books

My favorite genres of music are metal (nearly all kinds - hardcore, thrash, nu-metal, progressive metal, deathcore) and alternative rock. I also just started getting into hip-hop/funk/R+B/soul. Some favorite musicians of late are Tallah, Code Orange, The Devil Wears Prada, Jamie Lenman, Tyler, the Creator and Kendrick Lamar.

I don't watch a lot of movies, and I love enjoying movies when I have time to.

I have begun reading books again. Some books I have read recently are Polysecure, Daring Greatly, Homo Deus and Rich Dad Poor Dad.

I'm also a big fan of podcasts. Philosophize This!, This American Life, Reply All and Joe Rogan to name a few. I've recently discovered and fell in love with the True Crime genre. Cold, In the Dark, Serial, and Hell+Gone are my favorites.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Recovered my love for humanity and restored my relationship with my parents - I'm so so happy to share more about this!

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm happy to teach you whatever it is you'd like to learn more about! I will also be happy to direct you to any source that is much more reliable than my brain.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Long drawn out stories, craft cocktails, a running partner, homemade cold brew, an excited board game participant and a relaxed place to crash at night.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Croatia, Germany, Mexico, Netherlands, Romania, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Romania, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Avery’s full profile.