Avishek Ray's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Avishek’s full profile.

Overview

  • 53 references 52 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Bengali, Bangla, English, Hindi
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Teacher
  • PhD (Cultural Studies)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION: All races need not be run!

ABOUT ME

I'm fairly easy-going, non-intruding, solitary and introvert. This is however not to say I don't interact with my hosts or guests. In fact, I choose them selectively so as I get along with them. I'm not into parties and avoid all sorts of typically touristy activities. I like to gel with 'thinking' creatures. I prefer wandering and strolling in new places to going out to the must-see's in the guide book.

For hosts it's important to know I neither snore nor smoke. For prospective guests -- particularly if you're just in transit in Silchar, please consider that I stay 10 kms off the town. I grew up in Kolkata -- a metropolis, but since 2009, have been living in small towns: university towns, to be precise. I've enjoyed living in these locations and their relative their proximity with nature help me enjoy my solitude.

PHILOSOPHY

- anarchist

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I discovered CS before traveling to Cuba in December 2010. Then, I had just moved to Canada for my studies and was on a shoe-string budget. I took recourse to CS, although CS at that point wasn't legal in Cuba (things might have changed now!). What started out apparently as an 'illegal' activity, and primarily for budgetary arrangement, soon opened up new vistas of horizons, new experiences of relations and new world-views to exchange. Since then, I've surfed in and hosted surfers from across many countries. I'm on CS because I love the idea of UNCONDITIONAL hospitality.

Interests

- traveling- photography- cinema- cooking

  • books
  • photography
  • cooking
  • politics
  • traveling
  • tourism
  • food
  • cinema

Music, Movies, and Books

- movies: tarkovsky, chaplin, woody allen
- music: country, folk
- books: diverse; interest ranges from gastronomy to philosophy

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- Having made to mt. bromo, indonesia as a pillion rider on a 125cc motorcycle
- Flew to Indonesia on an overnight notice
- Attended a wedding of a stranger in a Guatemalan village

Teach, Learn, Share

- Cooking
- Politics
- Visual arts

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Cuba, Czech Republic, El Salvador, England, France, Germany, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Lebanon, Malaysia, Mexico, Nicaragua, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bulgaria, Canada, India, Scotland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Avishek’s full profile.

My Groups