Logo orange

Barbara Miller Elegbede

Tempe, AZ, United States

Not Accepting Guests

100% response rate · Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Barbara's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 527 Positive References12 Neutral
  • Ambassador
  • Fluent in English
  • 70, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • don't have to worry about being empl...
  • B.A. and post graduate, San Francisc...
  • From Boise idaho
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

continue to see as much of the planet as I can and at the same time meet the challenge of traveling with a disability

ABOUT ME

I was a hippie in the sixties in San Francisco. I always loved traveling and in between going to school and then working traveled to so many continents. Now that I am retired I can do the thing I really love to do, and that is to travel.

I had a serious accident in New Delhi, India in March 2010 (time passes!) and am still trying to recover from that. This is mainly the reason I have not been as active in CS as before the accident. Mostly I can't get around as well as before and either use a cane, walker or if I can zip around in a mobility scooter I love that. I still have the desire to travel - it is in the blood I guess but its a lot more difficult now but I haven't given up.

PHILOSOPHY

Listen to my heart and intuition and go with it. Cherish dreams and actualize if possible. Be of service to those around me whenever I can. Try to be true to myself and not hurt others.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Previously moderator of the CS Seattle discussion group and CS New Delhi discussion group; also New Delhi City Ambassador for 2+ years. New Delhi was very active and even sponsored some charitable activities and group excursions within India. I actively contributed to the New Delhi Wiki. I both surf and host and I love both roles altho I will say that sometimes its harder to find a couch. Currently I am listed as a Traveling Amb and I create meetings particularly when I travel. I hear that Amb flags are soon to be eliminated. I am always open to answer questions about CS and travel. just shoot me a message.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have been hosted in South Africa by Anna Ardine in Capetown and Riana in Pretoria, and in India, by Rajesh, Kormal and Karnack Joshi (Rishikish), Mr. and Mrs. Singh (Lucknow), JC (Gurgeon), Amit Chandigarth), Mr. and Mrs. Vipin Goyal (Jodhpur), the two beautiful Agas in Warsaw, Poland, Ananthi who stayed with me in Delhi and who lives in Singapore, Kuni, my friend who is now in Singapore, Ronita and VJ (Delhi), Jordi (Shanghai), Eric and his family (Hangzhou), Liu, Lesley and Malcolm (Beijing, China), Narinderjit (Amritsar), Diane (Jaipur), Anuradha (Gurgaon), Pankaj Sharma (Delhi), Pushpindra Singh (Jaipur), Gerish and Sumita (Noida) and Neeraj and Gorie (Gurgaon). In Seattle: Bob and Mary Lou. In Boise ID: with Kent Johnson, and Mr and Mrs Krasnov. In 2013 I was hosted by Varun and Maria in Delhi. Ameet in Mumbai, Ting in Pune, Joy in Goa, Kara in Bangalore and Rajesh and Kormal in Rishikish; and several wonderful CS in Guadalajara. Yes don't tell me how lucky I am, I know. These experiences have been wonderful, all of them.

In Delhi I have hosted Lauren (US), Yogi (Poland), Agnieszka (Poland), Ananthi and Yvonne (Singapore), Jean Charles and Alan (France), Meshy (Israel), Becca and Michal (US but living in Bangalore), Bruno (Argentina), Rajesh (Rishikish), Helene and Mariann (Finland), Natalie and Hanspeter (Swiss/French who live on a boat in the South Pacific), Senem Tongar (Turkish living in Romania), Alex (a Nomad Amb from France), Daiyan (Malaysia) and Jessica (Taiwan), Amanda and Ben from Colorado, USA, Jill from Brooklyn (USA), Brydie (Australia), Quentin (France), Moabi (Portugal) and Michael (Belgium), Timothy (Australia), Pello and his twin brother from Spain, Krista, Intl. Yoga Teacher (Florida), Roger from Montreal, Alice (Shanghai), Ajay (New Delhi), Marie (France), Eugenie and Tanya (Russia), Kunle (Nigeria), Richard and Tess (UK), Aman (New Delhi), Ronita (New Delhi), Hitomi (Japan), Carolin (Germany), Dayna (US), Alexander (Netherlands), David (UK), Marcela (Germany),Lukas (Switzerland), Pernille (Denmark) and Remy (France), Balazs (Hungry), Pete (US), Gonzalo (Chile), Kai (Mumbai/German), Tom (UK), Mateo and Daniela (Ecuador), Yi (China), Destiny (US), Radeeb (US/Bengladesh), Laurel and Jason (Canda), Ezan (Singapore), AJ (Co. Amb Afganistan), Mehmet (Turkey), Alex (France), The Traveling Jens (Ireland), Ananya (India), Vicente Sanchez (Spain), Benedicte & Rachel (France), Lisa (Finland), Gaia (US-Brazil), Deep (India), Mala (India), Alexandra (France), Maxim (Germany), Charlotte (Belgium), Miriam & Esteban (Argentina), Maria (Spain), Marko (Sweden), Selva (Germany), Matheiu (France), Yin (China), Emma (US), Hamouda (Morrocco), Natasha (Russia), Emma (USA), Alan & Merce (Spain), Ben (New Zealand), Jaco (US), Lonnie (US), Julian (India), Anna (Sweden), Nekani (Spain), Diego (Columbia), Fabian & Hannah, Max (Germany), Magda, Tiziana (Italy), Kara (US), Sandra & Christine (US), Aurelie (France), Wim (Belgium) Jutta & Thomas (Germany), Remo (Switzerland), Jelka (Austria), Serhat (Turkey), Akiko (Japan), Birgit and Gesine (Germany), Katerina (Portugal), Andrew (Australia), Marta (Italy), Leticia et Milan (France), Alfonso (Bolivia) Anne Marie (Switzerland), Nick (Nepal), Joy (USA), James and Meave (Canada, US), Viri (Spain/Mexico), James (US), Kimberly (US) Helga (Norway), Danielle (US), Amanda (US), Esther and Sib (France, Meg and 3 friends (US), Moritz (Germany), Ruth (UK), Malvina (US), Young and Jessica (US), Anja, Sumitra & baby Dev (Germany/India), Jadwiga (Netherlands), Yuliya (Belarus), Charles (UK), Kris (Hungary), Clio (US), Flavia (Brazil/Spain), Ines (Brazil/Japan), Sonja (Switzerland), Roman (Ireland/Poland), Rosine (US), Angie (US), Max & Judith (France/Canada), Natalia (Moldovia), Didier & Laura (UK), Wen (China), Florian and David (Austria), Clair (China), Marianna (Mexico), Nicole (US), Adrei (Moldova), Ashli (Turkey), Ann (US), Maria (US), Will (UK), Brittany and Nathan (US), Andrei {Maldovia}. Asliakar (Turkey).Ann (China}, Maria and Iga (Poland), Cara (US), Gosia, (Belgian), Miro (Bulgaria), Summer (China), Mahdi (Iran), Barbara (Germany), Annie (US), May and Sandy (Mexico}.

In Seattle I have hosted Wayne & Jayne (Wyoming),Andrew (Georgia), Mariel (Calif.), Ann (Calif.), Tiffany (Alaska), David (NY), Christa (WA), Ricardo (Spain), YiPing (Taiwan), Molly and Justin (NY), Ted and Lu (China), Viviane and Aurore (France), Chris and Ali (UK), Mae (Singapore), Ana and Carlos (Mexico), Maxime and Fanfan (France), Stacy (Utah), Thomas (Switzerland), Shawn Marie (Texas), Fabian (Germany), Pankaj (India), Nicole, Danielle and Sara (NY), Widelia and Christine (China), Nicolas (Belgium), Jessie & Schyler (TN)

Phoenix/Tempe, Arizona: Yogi (Austria), Delwar (Ohio/Bangladesh), Sheyi (UK) and Clement (France). Sandra and Glenn (Denmark), Elina (Sweden) and Missy (Wisc), Varun (TX and India), Jonathan (Belize), Masahiro (Japan), Minmin (Singapore); Roberto (US/France), Rebecca (US), Amo (Japan-MN); Johnny (Tempe/China); Mor and partner, Austin, Tx; Ed, Mexico and Alfreda, Canada.

Interests

Travel and writing and reading. I am a net-junkie and on line as much as I can. I am still into discovering more of Asia; India and China. I am trying to play the ukelele but not very good at it. I am drawn to the arts, dancing, music especially percussion. I am very interested in subjects saving the earth for future generations.

Music, Movies & Books

love afro beat, percussion,Indian instruments tabla, sitar, seranqui, electronic sounds, chants. In films, love drama, action and adventure. Foreign films, Sundance, activist documentaries. Can't resist cook books particularly with pictures. Drawn towards folkart. Love the moving image and artful photography. Enthusiastic to attend concerts and museums.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Hitch hiked and lived on a fishing vessel around Africa but I was alot younger then! Married an African Chief, and years later, also became an African Chief. Flew on Concorde six times. Entered a foreign country illegally by canoe and the only solution I could think of was to destroy my passport.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am perfectly happy to sit over a cuppa and listen to what YOU have to say.

Countries I've Visited

Bahamas, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Brazil, Cabo Verde, Canada, Central African Republic, China, Colombia, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Kenya, Korea, Republic of, Lesotho, Liberia, Malaysia, Mauritania, Mexico, Morocco, Nigeria, Poland, Puerto Rico, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Switzerland, Thailand, Togo, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Virgin Islands, U.S., Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I've Lived In

Ghana, India, Nigeria, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Barbara's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile