Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Barbora’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 71 References 22 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Czech, English; learning French, Spanish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • student
  • MU, Psychology & English
  • From Brno & Uherske Hradiste, Czech Republic
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Study and explore

ABOUT ME

You´d better find out yourself :)

PHILOSOPHY

- Carpe diem!

- Enjoying the small things..

- When you get to the top of a mountain keep climbing!
(J. Kerouac)

- One who makes no mistakes makes nothing at all.
(G. Casanova)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have been part of the comunity for a few years and just love the idea of travelling, meeting all the people, sharing experiences, showing them my city and organizing some events (Laser Game Meeting, Free Hugs, parties) and just enjoying it all.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have couchsurfed, hosted and visited a couple of CS events, made some good friends, got inspired and I really like the idea :)

Interests

Reading, hiking, travelling, swimming, jogging, watching art films, going to festivals, dancing, yoga, climbing in the mountains, photography (https://www.instagram.com/barborahubena/), fishy-smelling green tea, talking to people, making people laugh, making friends, sustainable ways of life..

I actually do love people, kids and animals, though it sounds like a big cliche..

  • animals
  • arts
  • photography
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • walking
  • partying
  • drinking
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • hiking
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • beaches
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Jim Jarmush, Ingmar Bergman, Lars von Trier, Akira Kurosawa, Michelangelo Antonioni, Emir Kusturica, Krzysztof Kieszlowski, Zhang Yimou, Quentin Tarantino, films that make me reflect on them, discuss them, sometimes films that make me cry (which doesn´t happen that often, so it has to be a good one..), also funny stuff like Monty Pythons... I am cinema buff and a proud one :)

Music: always looking for some new music :)
At the moment: Belle and Sebastian, Velvet Underground, 60's music, Nouvelle Vague, Sigur Ros, Pink Floyd, Pixies, The Smiths, Smashing Pumpkins, Regina Spector, Camera Obscura, The Cinematic Orchestra, Kurt Vile, The Girls, Death Cab for Cutie, Jesus and Mary Chain, The Cure, The National, Air, etc.

Books: G.G. Marquez, P. Coelho, S. Rushdie, J. Skvorecky, M. Kundera, F. Kafka, beatniks, Into the wild, and recently also Murakami...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- Watching sundawn over rainforest and Maya pyramids in Palenque
- Walking down to Grand Canyon, you cant believe it is so huge until you come close and discover it step by step, metre by metre..
- So many amazing places in India I can´t name just one:
Tea plantations in Munnar, breath-taking viewpoints in Himalayas, sunny beaches in Goa and Gokarna..
- Experiencing Turkish hospitality when travelling around the Black Sea in Bayram time (but not only then) - people would invite us to thier houses, introduced us to all the family and shared their dinners with us

.. but the thing is that there's much more to discover :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I enjoy long conversations, sharing stories and travelling experiences, learning about different cultures and presenting mine, generally I like drinking some red vine with others (sometimes also tea and smoking hookah) and just talking for hours..
I am not a first class cook, still I think I would enjoy cooking some traditional dish for my hosts..

I will be happy to introduce you to Brno:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=9lklJMAUb7k#!

I am kind of curious person and I like to learn...

What I Can Share with Hosts

I usually cook something or bring something from my country. If I travel for longer time, then I at least share my stories and my ideas.

Couchsurfing is for me about meeting people rather than just getting a place to sleep, so I try to spend some time with my hosts and make it a good time.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, Egypt, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Czech Republic, Luxembourg, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    7 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Barbora’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups