Benjamin HIARD's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Benjamin’s full profile.


  • 66 references 37 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in French; learning Czech, English, German, Japanese
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Economic Development Officer
  • 5 year's higher development education
  • From Eu - Ponts et marais / Vallée de la Bresle (France)
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Discover the world and its inhabitants / Découvrir la planète et ses habitants


As you can see, I enjoy travelling, it's my way of life. I just spend too few time to make live it, that's why I didn't make many travels by the past, especially in foreign countries.
I think well know his/her country is one of the first thing to do, especially when you live a beautiful country (I'm not nationalist!).
I like discovering nature as much as I like discovering people.
Couchsurfing is mine!!

/ Comme vous le constaterez, j'aime voyager, c'est ma raison d'être. Mon seul problème est de me donner le temps à ma passion, c'est pourquoi je n'ai pas beaucoup voyagé, notamment à l'étranger. je considère qu'il s'agit de bien connaître son pays , en premier lieu, surtout lorsque vous habitez un beau pays.
J'aime autant découvrir l'aspect paysager que l'aspect humain et culturel. Ce site est fait pour moi.


- Better seeing once a time than hearing one hundred times / Mieux vaut voir une fois qu'entendre cent fois
- Don't criticize to others they can criticize to you / Ne pas reprocher aux autres ce que l'on peut se reprocher à soi-même

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


- Hosting & surfing
- organizing meetings
- moderating the Lower Normandy forum
- involved in Rural Couchsurfing

- Interview on NRJ radio about my CS experience in December 07
- Interview from a reporter of La Voix du Bocage about my CS experience in July 08
- Interview from 2 local newspapers (Upper Normandy and Picardie, France)


They surfed my couch :

- Sophia (2007,March) - Germany

- Noémie (2007,May) - Canada

- Nico (2008,May) - France

- Fred (July,2008) - France

- John (July,2008) - Canada

- Paul (2008,August) - England

- Svitlana (2008,August) - Ukraine

- Johan (2008,August) - Belgium

- Maud (2008,September) - Germany

- Pauline (2008,September) - Germany/France

- Sam (2008,October) - France

- Mark (2008,October) - The Netherlands

- Garth and Trace (2008,October) - Canada

- Kim (2008,November) - The United States

- Cori (2008,November) - The United States

- Maud (2008,December and 2009,March) - Chile/France

- Laila (2009,March) - Brazil

- Karen & Rick (2009, July) - Australia

- Aster (2009, August) - China

- Mark (2010, February) - The Netherlands

- Marina (2010, February) - France

- Nathalie et Julien (2010, August) - Modane, France

- Jana, Gregory, Fanto and Gabriel (2010, August) - Vancouver, Canada/Slovakia

I surfed the couch of :

- Noémie (2007,July) - Montreal, Canada

- Nat (2007,July) - Gatineau, Canada

- Phil (2007,July) - Saint-Sauveur, Canada

- Matthieu (2007,July) - Chicoutimi, Canada

- Raphaël (2007,July) - Rimouski, Canada

- Sophia (2008,February) - Praha, Czech Republic

- Jiri (2008,February) - Kolin, Czech Republic

- Katka (2008,February) - Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic

- Sarka (2008,February) - Plzen, Czech Republic

- Nico (2008-2009) - France

- Geoff (2008,July) - Bath, England

- Tessa (2008,November) - Limerick, Ireland

- Silke (2008,November) - Killarney, Ireland

- Patoch' (2009, April) - France

- Sam (2009, April) - France

- Laurence and Jean (2009, May) - France

- Andreza (2009,May) - Lisbon, Portugal

- Fernando (2009,June) - Porto, Portugal

- Dominique (2009,July) - Arles, France

- Laura (2009,July) - Montpellier, France

- Joachim and Solène (2009,July) - Pia/Perpignan, France

- Elodie (2009,July) - Sabadell/Barcelona, Spain

- Mathieu (2009, December) - Montreal, Canada

- Victoria (2009, December / 2010, January) - Montreal, Canada

- Marianne (2010, February) - Montréal, Canada

- Martine (2010, July) - Sherbrooke, Canada

- Aleksandra & Edward (2010, July) - Halifax, Canada

- Amber (2010, July) - Glace Bay, Canada

- Nick (2010, July) - Sydney, Canada

- Patrick (2011, October) - Buffalo, United States


Travelling, football/soccer, cycling, music, cinema, computing, walk / Voyage, football, cyclisme, musique, cinéma, randonnées, informatique

  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • sports
  • soccer
  • emergency services
  • journalism

Music, Movies, and Books

Films : Good bye Lenin, Into the Wild, Je vais bien ne t'en fais pas, la cité des anges, la grande vadrouille, le fugitif,Will Hunting...
Music : French song (and québecoise!), electronik music, zouk, salsa, pop rock
Book : le pacte écologique (Nicolas Hulot), La terre n'est qu'un seul pays (André Brugiroux)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Not really an amazing thing done.
I was just lucky one day to cross the Manche without having a control by the border police.

During my last trip, I'd love to go in the US but the border police (and a sheriff!) was too nervous...and don't let us to go back in Canada without having a big identity control ! INCREDIBLE

Teach, Learn, Share

Rural development, land settlement, politic, sport, travels... / Aménagement du Territoire, Développement Local, enseignement particulier, politique, sport, voyages...

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France, Switzerland

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    14 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Benjamin’s full profile.

My Groups