Benjamin Barth's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 17 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Benjamin’s full profile.

Overview

  • 13 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German
  • 43, Male
  • Member since 2018
  • Biologist in nature conservation, saving the bees & f...
  • Ph.D
  • From Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Spreading love and happiness around the world. Trying to be the change I wish to see (to say it in Gandhi's words).

ABOUT ME

Living in the moment, I'm up to meet fellow human beings from all over the world, to share all kinds of fun and adventure, from just enjoying some drinks, over deep conversations (or even silence), to traveling together, exploring countries and boldly go where no one has gone before (at least not us).

Otherwise, I'm a biologist, usually working in evolutionary and molecular research projects on insects and other animals, contributing to understanding and conservation of nature as our world heritage.

PHILOSOPHY

Dream as if you'll live forever, live as if you'll die today. (James Dean)

Carpe diem, carpe noctem, cheers

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To share unconditionally. To travel instead of going on vacation. To make the journey the reward.

The world is like a book, and those who do not travel read only one page. (Saint Augustine)

Traveling to me means getting to know the 'real life' and 'real people' of a place, instead of being just a tourist. Likewise, hosting travelers is a way of travel without even leaving the place. Couchsurfing is a good way of meeting fellows, exchanging experience and mutually benefiting from insider knowledge and real life travel stories.

Let's create one world!

Interests

  • theater
  • concerts
  • festivals
  • traveling
  • rock music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • canoeing
  • camping
  • scuba diving
  • skiing
  • rock climbing
  • beaches
  • skating
  • evolution

Music, Movies, and Books

Favorite songs: Heros (David Bowie), Muscle Museum (Muse), After Dark (Tito & Tarantula)

Favorite book (in the moment): Sophie's World (Jostein Gaarder)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Woodstock, Poland (can't explain, has to be experienced); climbing mountains at Scandinavian white nights; deep water soloing Croatia's cliffs; jumping naked in a public fountain; being arrested in Ukraine; drinking with Russians. More stories to be discussed with some beers :D

What I Can Share with Hosts

Love, happiness, sadness, good, bad and ugly stories, experience, and most important: company.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Barbados, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Cabo Verde, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Grenada, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Mozambique, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Switzerland, Thailand, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Benjamin’s full profile.

My Groups