Benjamin Fries's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 83% response rate
  • Last login 6 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Benjamin’s full profile.


  • 27 references 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German, Italian; learning Arabic, Hebrew (modern), Persian (Farsi), Spanish, Turkish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • German lecturer
  • University - Master in Near and Middle East and German as...
  • From Munich, Bavaria, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey ya, I'm Benjamin, 25 years old from Germany. I studied Near and Middle East Studies and traveled to many Arabic, Islamic countries because of that. Currently I'm studying the binational master's programme "German as a foreign in an Arabic-German context". I want to teach non German people my native tongue as well as I can imagine to act as an interface and mediator between Germany and the Islamic World.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

When I was in Tunisia for completing an internship I had luck that a family adopted me, otherwise I would have been homeless for a while or would have to go to hotels. I have been so thankful and want to redirect my happiness and thankfulness for having had this kind and generous opportunity to you.
Furthermore, I love to get to know new people - especially from different countries or even continents, religions and cultures. This way I can get to the know the world and its inhabitants better and I would like to talk with you about your religious and cultural background, that's always very interesting.


My interests can be considered as quite normal. I love traveling to different places of the world while my focus (because of my studies and also personal interest) is on the Middle East and Islamic North Africa. But I would also love to go to South America very much, it's definitely on my bucket list. Furthermore, in order to be prepared for my travels I love studying new languages, Roman languages as well as other ones which totally differ from the languages I used to study (therefore I studied Arabic and Hebrew e.g.). I love sports but especially football / soccer and tennis. I also like meeting friends and going out with them.

  • books
  • politics
  • movies
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • soccer
  • languages
  • religion
  • beaches
  • food
  • football
  • bars
  • restaurants

Music, Movies, and Books

My favorite books are definitely the Harry Potter novels. I love them to pieces but apart from them I do not really find any time to read in leisure time cause of my studies I have to read much academic literature for. Concerning movies I love almost any kind of movies and watching a movie with you would be a cool way how to pass time together (just one option of many ones of course).

What I Can Share with Hosts

My room is not the biggest but I can give you my bed and I can sleep on the couch. Furthermore please feel so free to feel like being at home - mi casa es su casa. You can also use the kitchen as well as the fridge.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bahrain, Croatia, Egypt, England, Germany, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kuwait, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Spain, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Egypt, England, Germany, Iran, Israel, Oman, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Benjamin’s full profile.

My Groups