Benjamin Karstad's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Benjamin’s full profile.


  • 13 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French
  • 24, Male
  • Member since 2022
  • Software Developer
  • Bachelor of Computer Science
  • From Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm Ben, I'm currently on a mission to see the world from the seat of my motorbike. I'm open minded and outgoing, but I'm not a party animal. I'm traveling because I want to enrich myself and gain new life experiences now that I've finished my degree.

I love trying regional cuisine, and seeing things that I can't see anywhere else; visiting local shops and public spaces. I have a very spontaneous travel style and my ears are always open to local reccomendations.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I grew up in a home where hosting visitors and exchange was common. Many of my best memories are of the people my parents would host.

I am travelling the world. I love meeting new people and having authentic experiences, and Couchsurfing is a great way to do that and more. Living alone is no way to live, and I travel with the same mindset.

I love meeting locals who can share the little known secrets of the places I visit; hidden gems, off the beaten path both urban and in the great outdoors. Why travel if you can only scratch the surface, no?


I'm all about the outdoors, but I also really enjoy urban life, the bustling city environment is full of opportunities. Above all, I love new experiences; even if I'm sure I won't like something, I will still try it at least once.

  • photography
  • cooking
  • working out
  • nightlife
  • reading
  • hiking
  • canoeing
  • camping
  • scuba diving
  • sailing
  • rock climbing
  • hitchhiking
  • cultural immersion
  • motorcycling
  • caving
  • hot springs
  • trying new things
  • mud runs

Music, Movies, and Books

I can vibe to just about anything, and generally find a new favorite genre once a month; PLEASE share your music with me; I love being exposed to new artists and styles of music.

I really like Medieval Fantasy. My favorite book series is definitely either the Stormlight Archives (by Brandon Sanderson), or the Inheritance Cycle (by Christopher Paolini).

If I had to pick a favorite movie, it's probably the Princess Bride. Kinda basic, but it's a classic and has heavily shaped my sense of humor.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I sailed on a traditional wooden tallship from the north tip of Vancouver Island all the way down to Victoria. We were a crew of ~35 on a 45m schooner. Probably some of the best memories of my life were made on that trip. The trip lasted ten days and there are places I visited that are truly hidden gems: only accessible by boat.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach the ways of low impact hiking/camping, and would love to learn about big city life.
I love sharing my favorite recipes and cooking techniques.
I'm still young, but I have my share of tales. I love to exchange stories and learn about cultural differences.

You can learn all about my travels on my travel blog and PolarSteps:

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am an amateur photographer and a passionate cook, both skills that I gladly share. If you want help in the kitchen, I am happy to provide it. I can make sure not to bring anything into the house that violates your dietary restrictions/choices, just let me know in advance.

I am a non-smoker, I have no pets. I am tidy and hygenic.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see Benjamin’s full profile.

My Groups