Kim Deprenger's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 87% response rate
  • Last login 10 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kim’s full profile.

Overview

  • 66 references 60 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Oromo, Spanish; learning Swahili
  • 65, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • English as a Second Language Teacher
  • Masters in Education
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I want to travel by bicycle to learn more about the people and culture. Tourist sites are not on my radar.

ABOUT ME

I teach English to immigrants in the United States (English Language Learners) and other countries (English as a Foreign Language). I travel a lot on my bicycle, mainly in East Africa but this past summer I spent a month cycling in the Andes of Ecuador. I have two grown kids and a new grandson, born in August, 2017.

PHILOSOPHY
I learn about myself through others. For the past 15 years, instead of renting my own apartment, I have rented rooms in peoples' homes. I like the challenge of having to compromise in order to live peacefully with others. After living and traveling in developing countries, I also like the idea of sharing space rather than taking up a new one. But now I bought a house so I can share my space with others....something I have not been able to do for many years.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING
I travel and meet Couchsurfers and also host but I am not involved in the local events.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've stayed with Couchsurfers a few times in U.S., Costa Rica, Mexico, Ethiopia, and Tanzania. I have also been a host. I hosted people from all over the world who were also members. I traveled a lot through Servas, Couchsurfing, and Warm Showers, finding that my hosts were the most memorable part of my journey.

Interests

Bicycling, dancing, swimming, reading, meeting new people, working with refugees, hanging out with kids so I can do kid things. Learning languages.

  • culture
  • dancing
  • reading
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • swimming
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

My all time favorite was Poisonwood Bible but I like almost any book that I learn about the human spirit in the face of adversity. I enjoy learning the point of view of others and challenge myself to think more from their perspective rather than the one I grew up with. Movie: Rendition Music: Mana (from Mexico)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Too much to describe here but I'll tell you some of my bicycle traveling stories from Ethiopia, Oaxaca, or Kenya.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to share my ideas and adventures.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Learning about you. Sharing stories. Cycling together.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belize, Canada, Ecuador, Ethiopia, Guatemala, Hungary, Kenya, Mexico, Slovakia, Tanzania

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Ethiopia, Mexico, Switzerland

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Kim’s full profile.

My Groups